Go Back   PetFinder.my > PetFinder Lounge > Tech & Computers > Tech Lounge

Tech Lounge Everything Tech and gadgets. Discuss latest news.

Old 04-09-2009, 05:22 PM

Default Help!!!! IT help required!!

Can someone help me, please? I have a recurring problem with my computer.

The screen blanks out a few times, to return back to normal, and then, with a sound of a click, shuts down, like as if I had turn off my computer but didn't turn off my screen.

I had to reboot my computer by turning off & on the power. The on/off button on the CPU doesn't work, so I think it froze up.

I noticed that this happens whenever I try to upload my photos onto picasaweb using the picasa software, version 3. This happened only lately.

I've checked for virus, malware, etc, on picasaweb, but the results are negative.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.
Old 04-09-2009, 05:28 PM

Default Re: Help!!!! IT help required!!

I have half ton of IT, I try help. Check the Ram isn’t memorial low, or hard disk space almost finish?

Old 04-09-2009, 05:31 PM

err....how to check ram's memory low or not? hard disk space still ok, many gits still available.

I have half ton of IT, I try help. Check the Ram isn’t memorial low, or hard disk space almost finish?
Old 04-09-2009, 05:48 PM

try this http://oca.microsoft.com/en/windiag.asp

Old 04-09-2009, 05:57 PM

monkee94 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to monkee94

Are you using windows XP or Vista?
Old 04-09-2009, 05:57 PM

thanks!! I'm reading it now.....have to read it slowly wor....sounds more like foreign language than english to me.

Old 04-09-2009, 05:58 PM

windows XP.

Originally Posted by monkee94 View Post
Are you using windows XP or Vista?
Old 04-09-2009, 06:02 PM

this a bit hard. dont use this. i find other more simple for you.

Old 04-09-2009, 06:12 PM

Yeah!! i nearly went out to buy a german-english dictionary!!

this a bit hard. dont use this. i find other more simple for you.
Old 04-09-2009, 08:32 PM

No need to buy.I have one from my college time. Greman Pocket Dictionary by Langenscheidt.

Yeah!! i nearly went out to buy a german-english dictionary!!
Old 04-09-2009, 11:44 PM

hahahah...thank u, thank u. *flipping open june's dictionary*
eh, still tak paham la.....

errr......no one out there who can help me? please? pretty please?

No need to buy.I have one from my college time. Greman Pocket Dictionary by Langenscheidt.
Old 04-09-2009, 11:48 PM

Tak paham?? calling Clement.mayday!! mayday!!

QUOTE=blackie007;38948]hahahah...thank u, thank u. *flipping open june's dictionary*

errr......no one out there who can help me? please? pretty please? [/QUOTE]
Old 04-09-2009, 11:56 PM

Belum cukup masa. Have to wait for after midnight, only then Clement can hear and wake up. Remember?
Tak paham?? calling Clement.mayday!! mayday!!

QUOTE=blackie007;38948]hahahah...thank u, thank u. *flipping open june's dictionary*

errr......no one out there who can help me? please? pretty please?
[/QUOTE]
Old 04-09-2009, 11:59 PM

awww.....only clement here can help ah?? he'll be too busy after midnight lor, he has to work as a DJ in the club...

Belum cukup masa. Have to wait for after midnight, only then Clement can hear and wake up. Remember?
Old 04-10-2009, 12:04 AM

That time you are also there lah. Clement play the songs not singing. He can shout to you how to do it mah.
awww.....only clement here can help ah?? he'll be too busy after midnight lor, he has to work as a DJ in the club...
Old 04-10-2009, 12:08 AM

oh ya ah....come, let's go to the midnite club....it should be opened already.

That time you are also there lah. Clement play the songs not singing. He can shout to you how to do it mah.
Old 04-10-2009, 02:28 AM

Hmm.. sounds like a hardware problem to me if you can't even turn the power on/off... are you sure it only happens when you run the picasa software? What about during other times?

Since you mentioned that the screen blanks off, it could be related to your graphics card.. do you have any games installed in your computer, like The Sims? Try playing that and see if it kaputs your computer as well
Old 04-10-2009, 04:55 AM

To check the amount of RAM you have on your pc.. you can go to Start -> Run and type dxdiag

See how much RAM you have.

Does only the monitor black out..or the pc turned off too? (if the monitor is blacked out.. but you can see the CPU light working fine, it could be.. the monitor cable, the Graphic card or the monitor itself. Also check if the CPU is overheating.. (just try to put ur hand on the casing and feel how hot it is).

If the black out happened only when u're dealing with pictures / photo editing.. it could probably due to RAM / Virtual memory. Photo editing softwares usually are quite heavy and the computer will auto-reboot if the system cannot handle it. *scratch head*

If your talking about a laptop.. I rest my case.. I don't know zip about lappy.

P/S: Becareful when monitor blacks out but CPU runs like nothing happened (you can hear the CPU fans sound..).. I've had situation like this where... poof! the graphic card melted .. the cooling fan on the graphic card literally melted off

P/S #2: If you're not sure.. you can always get the pc for a simple check up..some computer shops does it..I think .. better be safe than melting
Old 04-10-2009, 06:34 AM

kak blackie,

call me.if i'm free, i'll come over n take a look.
Old 04-10-2009, 06:35 AM

kak blackie,

call me.if i'm free, i'll come over n take a look.