Go Back   PetFinder.my > Latest News & Happenings > Events

Old 04-12-2011, 04:35 PM

puppyhope is on a distinguished road
Default 100 Letters Campaign

A "100 Letters Campaign" has been organized in hope to help save 4 dogs involved in the Irish tourist that went into a private farm and bitten to death case, from being put to sleep by MPPP.

In conjunction with the "100 Letters Campaign" to stop 4 dogs from being put to sleep by MPPP, we realized that there are a portion of individuals who are not aware of the unpleasant incident leading to this campaign thus today, we shall provide a brief summary of the happenings here.

On Jan 9, Irish tourist Maurice Sullivan, 50, was mauled to death by two mongrels at an organic farm in Teluk Bahang, Penang.
A post-mortem revealed that Sullivan had died of severe hemorrhage after suffering multiple bites, especially on the limbs, head and neck.

Both dogs were taken to the State Veterinary Department on Jan 10 for observation and found to be in perfect health with no infection of rabies.

In the mid of February, the authorities took into custody two more dogs which belong to Teoh as part of the investigation into the tragic death of Sullivan. The two dogs are of the same mixed breed as the mongrels which were seized following the Jan 9 incident.

On April 4, fruit farm owners Joseph Teoh, 42, and his wife Teoh Bee Eng, 56, were fined a total of RM4,000 or in default three months jail term each, for owning four dogs without collars and registration licences.

Magistrate Mohd Hidayat Wahab imposed the fine after the couple, who were unrepresented, pleaded guilty at the Balik Pulau Magistrate's Court Monday.

On the other hand, Mohd Hidayat said the four dogs, which were pit bull type dogs, would be handed over to the Penang Municipal Council's veterinary department to be destroyed or dealt with any other action deemed suitable.

WHY WE WANT TO HELP THESE 4 DOGS?

1. There were no witness during the time of occurrence, so who can prove that the dogs are guilty? - Innocent Until Proven Guilty. Did Sullivan do anything to provoke these dogs? No one knows. But just because Sullivan is dead and these dogs could not speak out their testaments, they are at the wrong? And deserve to be destroyed? Where is JUSTICE, then?

2. These dogs are merely carrying out their duties as guard dogs. They are there to protect their masters and guard the property, NOT for entertainment purposes. If carrying out a duty is consider crime, does that mean security guards who shot down robbers during the time of robbery should be sentence to death as well?

3. The owners of the farm had placed "NO ENTRY" signage at the farm to prevent trespassers or anyone from entering the premises without the present of the owners. Anyone who entered without permission will be at their own risk. So, why is Sullivan found wondering on his own?

4. It was stressed in the news a few times that Sullivan was playing with the dogs the day before so why the sudden attack when the dogs should have already recognize Sullivan from the previous day? Guard dogs will only adhere to their master's instructions thus they are called guard dogs. Anyone experience with dogs would know it’s dangerous to enter a premise with guarding dogs without the owner’s present. The owner should always be there to introduce the dogs to new visitors/friends and never to leave the visitors/friends alone attended, as these dogs will view unfamiliar humans as a threat to their master or the property they are guarding.

No doubt, Sullivan was playing with the dogs the previous day BUT it was with the present of the master. Bear in mind, these dogs were only friendly with Sullivan on the first day because they knew then he was a friend of their master. On the following day, the dogs have every reason to think of Sullivan as trespassers when he was loitering around the farm without the master's present.

E.g. A stranger ring your door bell one day asking if you have old newspapers for sale. You do and so you open the gate to let him come in while instructing your dog not to bark or bite this person. This stranger happens to be a burglar in disguised, so the following day, he came back knowing you were not home with the intention to rob your house. In such case, do you think your dog’s responsibility is to wag it’s tail at the burglar (as his owner had introduce him to this burglar the previous day) to welcome him or should this dog be barking and attacking the burglar?

If you chose the latter, then why should these 4 dogs be destroyed when what they are doing is right?

5. It was reported earlier that a police investigation had found that only one of the two dogs was involved in the fatal attack (please refer to the news here), so why total of 4 dogs should be put to sleep?

E.g. The burglar commit a crime and his whole family has to be sentenced to death?

6. Agnieszka Jablonska, 28, the Polish friend of Sullivan said she would not press charges against Joseph Teoh and his family members as she had accepted the incident as an accident (please refer to the news here), so why is Malaysian Government still pressing charges against these dogs? It proves that our country is practicing NO ANIMAL RIGHTS!

All-in-all, we are appealing for the public to join forced with us to call-off the killing of these 4 dogs. Animals deserve legal rights just as humans.

PuppyHope has written a letter in to show support for these 4 dogs. How about you? Have you done your part yet today?

Ellen Chan
xxxxxxxxxxxxxx,
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx,
Penang.

11 April 2011

Dr. Judy
Veterinary Department – MPPP
River Road, Penang

Dear Dr. Judy,
Appealing for the department to re-consider the decision befallen upon the 4 dogs involved in Irish tourist went into private farm bitten to death case.

First of all, it isn’t fair to refer these dogs, as killer dogs as no one knew the actual reason(s) as to WHY these dogs had attacked in the first place - Innocent Until Proven Guilty. There is not one single person who had witnessed the whole scenario accept the deceased himself. How can we be sure that the deceased did not do something to provoke these dogs?

Secondly, these dogs are referred to as “farm dogs”. Their task is to guard the farm and stop trespassers from entering their premises. What these dogs did was just carrying out their responsibilities. And for that, they are to be sentenced to death? Is this what we called, “JUSTICE”? The owner of the farm did in fact put up a “NO ENTRY” signage to warn/prevent anyone from entering the property without his permission or present but WHY was the deceased found wondering around the farm, alone? Shouldn’t the deceased be more caution, knowing there were guard dogs around?

Anyone experience with dogs would know it’s dangerous to enter a premise with guarding dogs without the owner’s present. The owner of the dogs should always be there to introduce the dogs to new visitors and never to leave the visitors alone attended, as these dogs will view unfamiliar humans as a threat to their owner or the property they are guarding.

Yes, I know that the deceased was playing with the dogs the previous day BUT it was with the present of the owner. Bear in mind, these dogs were only friendly with the deceased on the first day because they knew then he was a friend of their owner. On the following day, the dogs have every reason to think of the deceased as trespassers when he was loitering around the farm without the owner’s present.

For example, some stranger ring your door bell one day asking if you have old newspapers for sale. You do and so you open the gate and let this person come in and warn your dog not to bark or bite this person. This stranger happens to be a burglar in disguised, so the following day, he came back knowing you were not home with the intention to raid your house. In such case, do you think your dog’s responsibility is to wag it’s tail at the burglar (as his owner had introduce him to this burglar the previous day) to welcome him or should this dog be barking and attacking the burglar?

Put yourself in the above situation and you will know that there is no reason to blame these dogs for attacking. They are merely carrying out their task as a guard dog but by end of the day they were the ones being blame for doing the job. So, is this FAIR?

Lastly, I sincerely hope that your department will seriously look into the matter and called-off the decision to waste away the lives of these innocent animals. They had been loyal to their owner by protecting him, but in the end, their fate was to be destroyed.

Yours truly,

All letters are to be attention to Dr. Judy at Veterinary Department (MPPP). You may email the letter(s) to April Sham at springsfieldresources@gmail.com. She will be helping to compile all letters before handing over to MPPP.

Please act now!

Source:
1. http://puppyhope.blogspot.com/2011/0...-to-sleep.html
2. http://puppyhope.blogspot.com/2011/0...ve-4-dogs.html

Last edited by puppyhope; 04-13-2011 at 09:57 AM.