Go Back   PetFinder.my > The Animal Corner > Small Mammals - Furry & Cute > Hamsters

Old 09-04-2008, 11:44 AM

Talking Bandit is so confused....

My hamster cannot decide where to hide his snack...
he is so confuse.....till he finally settle back at his comfort tv bed....

http://www.spike.com/video/confused-hamster/3028694
Old 09-04-2008, 12:29 PM

Default Re: Bandit is so confused....

My hamster cannot decide where to hide his snack...
he is so confuse.....till he finally settle back at his comfort tv bed....

http://www.spike.com/video/confused-hamster/3028694
hehe...that is so cute....he really looked so confused, turning here and there, like he's thinking where should he hide his snack...
Old 09-04-2008, 12:55 PM

he's adorable!!! what's his favorite snack? i couldn't really tell what it was.. i bought my brother a hamster that looks just like that! syrian right? she bit me sooooooo hard on the first day. it was a bloodbath now i'm scared to hold her even though he says she's used to people now.. i bought her a mineral block but she doesn't use it.. what does your hamster chew on?
Old 09-04-2008, 02:16 PM

that one i gave him is a hard snack - probably for him to bite and sharpen his teeth..............he has no favourite snack - he will just take all

i got another two males - i cannot give this hard snack as what you seen here given to bandit. Both of the males will sure fight..... i give two - two also - one will want to steal all... i guess they cannot share one. So no snacks for this two boys.

other than that...normal hamster food
at times i give them the droplets (cannot give too much if not sure - diarrhea)
they love fresh vege - carrot, turnips, cucumber, broccolis

syrian are nicer to play with - bigger easier to hold...
i dont really like the small one
i had these before - always "scream" here and there , move too fast until i have to use the fish net to catch it

my all time favourite is always syrian

just an advise to all hamster person - do not give those supplement liquid

last time i had one small one and medium
i give them..thought it is nutrient - end up both of them dead so sad that their life span so short . From that day onwards, no more liquid stuff that you think it is good.
Old 09-04-2008, 02:17 PM

he's adorable!!! what's his favorite snack? i couldn't really tell what it was.. i bought my brother a hamster that looks just like that! syrian right? she bit me sooooooo hard on the first day. it was a bloodbath now i'm scared to hold her even though he says she's used to people now.. i bought her a mineral block but she doesn't use it.. what does your hamster chew on?
OMG, lynielime. i didn't know hamsters can bite....i'll be sure not to touch one that does not know me....
Old 09-04-2008, 02:58 PM

OMG, lynielime. i didn't know hamsters can bite....i'll be sure not to touch one that does not know me....
they will bite if they dont know or dont like you
hahahaa

remember they are cute but they can BITE

they dont like to be touch at their forehead - they get very pissed off
and never disturb a hamster when it is sleeping - they will bite you as well
Old 09-04-2008, 03:02 PM

hahhahahaaha it was my fault she bit me lah. i had just brought her home from the petstore, set up her awesome cage with tunnels, and then i tried to pick her up and put her in. actually i should have just open the hamster carrier thing and let her slowly crawl into the cage herself.. but i picked her up.. she got scared.. first day mah! so CHOMP!!!!!! she bit HARDDDDDD.. and i think i think she could smell cat on my hands. i've learned my lesson!!
Old 09-04-2008, 03:25 PM

they will bite if they dont know or dont like you
hahahaa

remember they are cute but they can BITE

they dont like to be touch at their forehead - they get very pissed off
and never disturb a hamster when it is sleeping - they will bite you as well
Wow, thanks for these lessons, vivien. i'll bear this in mind.....gee, i've always thot of hamsters as friendly, docile creatures, ones that u can just pick up at will. it never occurred to me that they might be like cats or dogs, with temperament.

hahhahahaaha it was my fault she bit me lah. i had just brought her home from the petstore, set up her awesome cage with tunnels, and then i tried to pick her up and put her in. actually i should have just open the hamster carrier thing and let her slowly crawl into the cage herself.. but i picked her up.. she got scared.. first day mah! so CHOMP!!!!!! she bit HARDDDDDD.. and i think i think she could smell cat on my hands. i've learned my lesson!!
she probably thought you're a mutant cat about to eat her for lunch!
Old 09-04-2008, 05:46 PM

Default Bandit is so confused....

Lynie,I remember it very well,in 1999.my younger sister came from KK to stay with me in KL because she further her study in UPM.She's not cat person so she kept hamster instead.she named him Hopi.I'm the bad one,I always take the hamster out from his cage and put it under the tudung saji.(cannot remember what is tudung saji in english ).the hamster running in 1 circle inside the tudung saji.he!!he!! my sister was very angry with me.

Old 09-04-2008, 07:07 PM

Lynie,I remember it very well,in 1999.my younger sister came from KK to stay with me in KL because she further her study in UPM.She's not cat person so she kept hamster instead.she named him Hopi.I'm the bad one,I always take the hamster out from his cage and put it under the tudung saji.(cannot remember what is tudung saji in english ).the hamster running in 1 circle inside the tudung saji.he!!he!! my sister was very angry with me.
waaaa....that's very notty....letak under tudung saji macam lauk, plak!!!

tudung saji = a plastic food dish cover not available in mat salleh countries.
Old 09-04-2008, 08:03 PM

you smell fishy to you hamster.... hahaa

first time moving a hamster - more they will bite haha

i kena my share of bites before.....
Old 09-04-2008, 09:23 PM

you smell fishy to you hamster.... hahaa

first time moving a hamster - more they will bite haha

i kena my share of bites before.....
Yeah i scared her poor thing. I got bitten before by dwarf hampsters but not so bad. This time when my bro's syrian bit me WOW WOW WOW! The blood was flowing man! Dripping on the floor and everything. I was amazed and impressed at the power of her teeth. Will respect her boundaries from now on! Won't grab her.
Old 09-04-2008, 09:50 PM

Default Bandit is so confused....

Tudung saji is dish cover,isn't it???

You know what Charlene?? Hopi commited suicide not long after that.he!!he!! he jumped from our apartment.we were on the 1st floor. we ran down and was looking for him around our apartment area.found him dead in the longkang. my sister cried for 3 days.pity her.Her then boyfriend (now hubby already) bought her another hamster.But she said,no hamster can replace Hopi.

Old 09-04-2008, 10:04 PM

Tudung saji is dish cover,isn't it???

You know what Charlene?? Hopi commited suicide not long after that.he!!he!! he jumped from our apartment.we were on the 1st floor. we ran down and was looking for him around our apartment area.found him dead in the longkang. my sister cried for 3 days.pity her.Her then boyfriend (now hubby already) bought her another hamster.But she said,no hamster can replace Hopi.
yes, tudung saji is dish cover....was just being pandai2 elaborating on my explanation....hahahaha.

oh no, poor Hopi! poor, poor hamster.
Old 09-05-2008, 11:24 AM

Yeah i scared her poor thing. I got bitten before by dwarf hampsters but not so bad. This time when my bro's syrian bit me WOW WOW WOW! The blood was flowing man! Dripping on the floor and everything. I was amazed and impressed at the power of her teeth. Will respect her boundaries from now on! Won't grab her.
their teeth very sharp one - that is why nuts is not a problem to them :)

you should see when they yawn - you can see their too long sharp teeth
Old 09-05-2008, 11:58 AM

omg when i first read june's post about putting the hamster in the tudung saji, i thought she meant the head scarf. so i imagined this girl with a hamster running around on her head inside her scarf
Old 09-05-2008, 12:01 PM

their teeth very sharp one - that is why nuts is not a problem to them :)

you should see when they yawn - you can see their too long sharp teeth
yes i saw her yawn later that night.. wow... those are some long sharp teeth.. but soooo cute when she yawns.

i held her last night, for the first time since she bit me. i was inspired by this thread . my brother put her in my hands and told me not to panic. i closed my eyes but it was ok she just sniffed me and walked around. she's adorable and quite smart.
Old 09-05-2008, 03:46 PM

yes i saw her yawn later that night.. wow... those are some long sharp teeth.. but soooo cute when she yawns.

i held her last night, for the first time since she bit me. i was inspired by this thread . my brother put her in my hands and told me not to panic. i closed my eyes but it was ok she just sniffed me and walked around. she's adorable and quite smart.
hold her by her tummy with your whole hand....softly
dont squeeze and be gentle..
your hands must be clean and must not smell fishy hehee

once they are comfortable - they will come all over you :)