View Poll Results: Who will win the 2008 Olympics? The United States vs China
China 4 66.67%
US 2 33.33%
Dunno and Dun care 0 0%
Voters: 6. You may not vote on this poll

Old 08-08-2008, 04:04 AM

Default Olympics 2008, the Start of Chinese Domination

The Olympics Bejing opening ceremony is about 17 hours away!!

I simply can't wait...

The hour?

It's August, 8th, 2008, at 8.08 pm (china time).. which translates to:

Date: 8-8-08, Time: 8.08 pm

Five 8s

In chinese, the pronunciation of the word 8 and 'prosperity' is the same... almost... so, the number 8 signifies prosperity and is a lucky number for the chinese...

The number 4 on the other hand shares the same pronunciation with 'death' which is bad... in most elevators in Malaysia, for instance, there will not be a 4th floor, there'll be like floor 1, 2, 3, 3a, 5, etc..

Anyways... OLYMPICS!!!!!

I am hooked on the Swimming events because I used to be a swimmer... I am naturally gifted, ie, I didn't train much but was likely the fastest swimmer in my country in a 25 meter pool.... of course the shortest distance in the olympics is 50 meteres so i can't compete... the reason is that my speed slows down drastically after 30 meters because i lack stamina which only comes after years of training.. but my natural speed was like 10 seconds in 25 meters... the world record for 50 meters is like 21 seconds.. So, I always regrette that I was too lazy to train when I was young, or I may have had a serious chance of being an olympian...

Oh, I am also interested in watching the Basketball, track and field events, the marathon...

So, are you guys gonna tune in? and if so, what events?? or, totally not interested??

And who do you think will win the gold tally this year? China or the US?
Old 08-08-2008, 07:07 PM

steffy1811 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Olympics 2008, the Start of Chinese Domination

as much as I would like my alma mater country to win, I got a feeling homeground advantage rules. So probably China will top the charts this time around.

Whatever it is, may the best man win lor....

How about a poll how many BRONZE medal will Malaysia bring home this time around? Haha.... yeah, you see it right. BRONZE only. Can forget about Gold lah ok. Not I dont want to have confidence in our own team, but........

Is Taekwondo on the list this time around. I would like to catch that. Haha. Learn some new move to kick some asses.
Old 08-08-2008, 08:57 PM

Haha... bronze medals huh? Boleh ke?

Anyways, ya.. i am watching the ceremony right now as I type...

oooh.. exciting performance right now.. gotta go...
Old 08-08-2008, 10:09 PM

Yes, I do agree with steffi.Its a home ground advantages...
China will bags most of the medals....

Old 08-08-2008, 10:37 PM

How lucky you guys get to watch the ceremony ...
I don't have TV / ASTRO facility here...
I can only imagine...
Fireworks, Laser show .... aaahhhhh

Old 08-08-2008, 10:43 PM

I can only imagine...
Just finished watching it... it was quite amazing... fireworks, laser, etc..
Old 08-08-2008, 11:07 PM

I can only imagine...
La ...bina apasal tak google aja tadi...di internet banyak ada video feed live streaming...tengok recorded kat you tube pun boleh...

Ezer...pls can upload vids feed arr...here...Klau best got everyday video feeds from beijing...for the whole Olympic period lagi best...

Last edited by Penghulu; 08-09-2008 at 07:44 AM.
Old 08-08-2008, 11:51 PM

Hmmmm...

Old 08-13-2008, 01:43 AM

Post all olympics related stuff here:

Ok, here goes...

Michael Phelps is the Great American Hero!

He's already won 3 gold medals out of 3 events and broken 2 world records.

America's currently got 6 gold medals, that means Michael's got 50% of the entire country's gold medals!!

Think about that!!

oh, he's aiming for 8 gold medals total! He got 7 gold medals in the last olympics...
Old 08-13-2008, 04:12 AM

China's singing genius was lip-synching!

Left: Girl performing on the song in the opening ceremony
Right: Providing the actual voice.

BEIJING — A 7-year-old Chinese girl was not good-looking enough for the Olympics opening ceremony, so another little girl with a pixie smile lip-synched "Ode to the Motherland," a ceremony official said _ the latest example of the lengths Beijing took for a perfect start to the Summer Games.

A member of China's Politburo asked for the last-minute change to match one girl's face with another's voice, the ceremony's chief music director, Chen Qigang, said in an interview with Beijing Radio.
Old 08-13-2008, 04:40 AM

China's singing genius was lip-synching!

Left: Girl performing on the song in the opening ceremony
Right: Providing the actual voice.
omg..is this true?
if it is then how narrow minded and cruel to do this..
considering how the not good looking enough girl will feel..
come on, there are still people that are not that judgmental on looks..
having a young girl singing live in front of billions people is more than what looks can offer..
If you let the girl that nowadays we'll use the term ugly betty for, i think the ugly betty will receive for applause and respects from other, she's very brave to sing live in front of the whole wide world!
why didn't they give her a chance, it might be an opportunity in a lifetime..

poor for the cute lip sync girl too,if this is the truth then imagine how humiliated she'll feel...
they're still young, they don't deserve for this harsh treatment yet but that's reality...
I'm sorry for them...

p/s-neway there were also rumors about the night of the opening fireworks, some of them was computer generated fireworks...
but it's not that big issues, still it look pretty...
Old 08-14-2008, 02:06 AM

Michael Phelps is a SUPER ATHELETE!

I wanna be like Michael Phelps! I always regret being lazy and never trained... I could have been an olympian... sux....

Anyways, PHELPS NEWS!

He's done it again..

He's not got 5 GOLDs and broke 5 WORLD RECORDS to do it.

That means, he still has 50% of the GOLDS of the United States which has a total of 10 golds so far.

Imagine, If Michael Phelps is a country, Phelp Nation would be the 3rd ranking country now.