Go Back   PetFinder.my > PetFinder Lounge > Food & Recipes

Food & Recipes Drool over the tastiest cuisines and feast your eyes upon secret recipes!

Old 08-25-2008, 02:41 PM

Default Where is the best Malay food?

I love Malay food, the pure Malay food, not mamak. For me, it's either pure Indian or pure Malay. Somehow, the Indian muslim food is not quite it......sorry, friends, if there're any of you who are Indian Muslims.

I used to like this Malay food stall behind the Alice Smith International School (near the Istana negara / Chinese cemetery). My 2 favourite dishes there were Ayam Tiga Rasa and Ayam Goreng Kunyit. Unfortunately, they have since been taken over by some other food operator that did not continue their menu.

So, does anyone know where I can get really yummy ayam 3 rasa and ayam goreng kunyit?
Old 08-25-2008, 02:49 PM

Default Re: Where is the best Malay food?

I love Malay food, the pure Malay food, not mamak. For me, it's either pure Indian or pure Malay. Somehow, the Indian muslim food is not quite it......sorry, friends, if there're any of you who are Indian Muslims.

I used to like this Malay food stall behind the Alice Smith International School (near the Istana negara / Chinese cemetery). My 2 favourite dishes there were Ayam Tiga Rasa and Ayam Goreng Kunyit. Unfortunately, they have since been taken over by some other food operator that did not continue their menu.

So, does anyone know where I can get really yummy ayam 3 rasa and ayam goreng kunyit?
.:: Blackie, is it the kedai ikan bakar right??? ::.

Old 08-25-2008, 03:13 PM

Originally Posted by Mr & Mrs Mondok View Post
.:: Blackie, is it the kedai ikan bakar right??? ::.
no, mrs mondok, it's not the kedai ikan bakar, at least I don't think it is, as I haven't been there since the owners gave up their shop. this shop can be seen from the Alice Smith International School. I'm not good with directions, so I'm afraid I am not able to describe the location......I went past Seremban towards Melaka once when I wanted to go to Sg. Besi!!

but the proprietor is no longer there lar......that's why I'm asking friends here if they know of any place that serves nice Malay food.
Old 08-25-2008, 03:33 PM

Why don't you try nasi campur in Kampung Baru?? I tried some of the food there,but I forgot the name of the stall.
Old 08-25-2008, 03:39 PM

nasi lemak kg chuah~!! come come~!! ada waitress siamese.. hehehe

gambar waitress tu...

Name:	kucin siam kpg chuah 001 (2).jpg
Views:	236
Size:	32.1 KB
ID:	436   Click image for larger version

Name:	kucin siam kpg chuah 002 (2).jpg
Views:	265
Size:	31.4 KB
ID:	437   Click image for larger version

Name:	kucin siam kpg chuah 003 (3).jpg
Views:	276
Size:	37.6 KB
ID:	438   Click image for larger version

Name:	kucin siam kpg chuah 004 (4).jpg
Views:	267
Size:	31.5 KB
ID:	439  
Old 08-25-2008, 03:43 PM

...but I forgot the name of the stall.
hehehe, kak june, thank u for the no information...... sorry, just being my notty self.

Originally Posted by chemonk View Post
nasi lemak kg chuah~!! come come~!! ada waitress siamese.. hehehe

gambar waitress tu...
oooh....waitress berkaki 4 kah? Must go! Must go! And mesti ambik gambar masuk kat Star, maybe win RM50......
Old 08-25-2008, 03:49 PM

no, mrs mondok, it's not the kedai ikan bakar, at least I don't think it is, as I haven't been there since the owners gave up their shop. this shop can be seen from the Alice Smith International School. I'm not good with directions, so I'm afraid I am not able to describe the location......I went past Seremban towards Melaka once when I wanted to go to Sg. Besi!!

but the proprietor is no longer there lar......that's why I'm asking friends here if they know of any place that serves nice Malay food.
.:: Owh, ok... Restoran Gulai Kawah at Seksyen 8 Bandar Baru Bangi also not bad... ::.

Old 08-25-2008, 03:52 PM

Blackie the cat would love to meet the waitress!!!!

Old 08-25-2008, 05:06 PM

Originally Posted by Mr & Mrs Mondok View Post
.:: Owh, ok... Restoran Gulai Kawah at Seksyen 8 Bandar Baru Bangi also not bad... ::.
Any landmarks, Mrs Mondok? Maybe this long merdeka weekend I can go jalan2 cari makan there....

Blackie the cat would love to meet the waitress!!!!
Yes, I'd love to meet this siamese 4-legged waitress.....
Old 08-25-2008, 05:08 PM

blackie..the best ayam goreng kunyit ive ever tasted...at tv3 cafe..hikhikhik...sometimes i go for sotong goreng kunyit...compliment with nasi putih panas2 and soup sayor...

ayam kg @ kg baru...velodrom cheras also not bad...

Last edited by hatemetoday; 08-25-2008 at 05:14 PM.
Old 08-25-2008, 05:13 PM

blackie..the best ayam goreng kunyit ive ever tasted...at tv3 cafe..hikhikhik...sometimes i go for sotong goreng kunyit...compliment with nasi putih panas2 and soup sayor...
Eh, kak Ina, where is tv3 cafe? U mean inside tv3 at bandar utama? Yes, I also like sotong goreng kunyit.......yummy-yummy.
Old 08-25-2008, 05:16 PM

Eh, kak Ina, where is tv3 cafe? U mean inside tv3 at bandar utama? Yes, I also like sotong goreng kunyit.......yummy-yummy.

yep..at our lobby ...tv3, sri pentas, bdr utama
Old 08-25-2008, 05:19 PM

yep..at our lobby ...tv3, sri pentas, bdr utama
oooooh......outsiders boleh pigi kah? Atau pun ex-NST staff? And what are the operating hours? Weekends ade open kah?
Old 08-25-2008, 05:24 PM

oooooh......outsiders boleh pigi kah? Atau pun ex-NST staff? And what are the operating hours? Weekends ade open kah?
outsider can come la...but need to get visitor pass from post guard dkt main entrance...if you really want to come...just tell the guard you want to see me....mesti lepas punya..hikhik...but paking sini problem...operating hours from mornign to 10 pm...weekends i think the tukang masak will not be around on sunday...kene check balik....
Old 08-25-2008, 05:36 PM

ayam kg @ kg baru...velodrom cheras also not bad...
kak ina......sorry, need more info lah.......I nie blur sangat, nanti end up in Melaka plak!

outsider can come la...but need to get visitor pass from post guard dkt main entrance...if you really want to come...just tell the guard you want to see me....mesti lepas punya..hikhik...but paking sini problem...operating hours from mornign to 10 pm...weekends i think the tukang masak will not be around on sunday...kene check balik....
hehehe, can produce kad NST ke? But I seriously want to go....you only mention not sure about sundays. That means, on Saturdays the same tukang masak will be there from morning to 10 pm? I'll be there this Saturday evening!!! I'll just tell the guard I want to go to the cafe, boleh ka? I mean, u will not be working on Sat evening, rite?
yaberdee-yaberdee-doo!! Tak boleh tahan.....tak boleh tunggu sampai saturday!!!
Old 08-25-2008, 06:06 PM

illa79 is on a distinguished road

blackie do you like ayam goreng berempah?there's one stall near my office that sells good nasi kukus and ayam goreng rempah..comes with kuah kari and sambal belacan as well..simply yummylicious!! its at cafe Jumpa,behind Life Centre on Jln Sultan Ismail.I once had the nasi for 5 days in a row,it was so yummy!!
Old 08-25-2008, 06:35 PM

I'm not sure if malay thai food counts as malay food.. But for me vicchuda in damansara uptown is the best. I love the sup ekor, telur bungkus and kerabu sotong.. Yummy..
Old 08-25-2008, 06:42 PM

Originally Posted by illa79 View Post
blackie do you like ayam goreng berempah?there's one stall near my office that sells good nasi kukus and ayam goreng rempah..comes with kuah kari and sambal belacan as well..simply yummylicious!! its at cafe Jumpa,behind Life Centre on Jln Sultan Ismail.I once had the nasi for 5 days in a row,it was so yummy!!
YES! YES! Thanks....I'll go try it out.........

I'm not sure if malay thai food counts as malay food.. But for me vicchuda in damansara uptown is the best. I love the sup ekor, telur bungkus and kerabu sotong.. Yummy..
My hubby loves sup ekor..........we actually love any Malay food, except Mamak. If it's Mamak, we prefer it to be pure Indian food.......you know even those Indian food stalls are better than the Mamak's. For some reason, something is missing in the mamak's food.

Thanks, everybody......I'm so glad I asked....I've written down all these places and my hubby and I are going to check out these places, one by one.....yum-yum......can't wait.......
Old 08-25-2008, 07:25 PM

illa79 is on a distinguished road

hi its me again..

lynie,blackie u may also want to try out Restoran Santai at Tesco Ampang/TTDI..if im not mistaken they have a few branches but i've only been to the 2 above.I love their Ikan Siakap Kerabu Mangga...love it,love it,love it..

another place worth checking out is Restoran Suraya at Kampung Baru..good food,reasonable price..they also have kerang bakar,mee celup,nasi air..

oops..another place is Kel Food (stands for Kelantan Food) near tmn melati,along MRR2 heading towards Gombak..its the same row as Hj Samuri Sate Kajang.a bit pricey,but good selection of lauk for nasi campur..expect a full hse on weekends during lunch.i like their nasi air..in the mornings they have all sorts of dishes from kuih to nasi kerabu,nasi dagang etc..
Old 08-25-2008, 09:27 PM

Blackie,I think the one in kampung baru I mentioned is Restoran Soraya.he!!he!he!! I forgot the name earlier.now I recalled after reading Ila's post. The restaurant was recommeded by my chef husband,ahem!!

Originally Posted by illa79 View Post
hi its me again..

lynie,blackie u may also want to try out Restoran Santai at Tesco Ampang/TTDI..if im not mistaken they have a few branches but i've only been to the 2 above.I love their Ikan Siakap Kerabu Mangga...love it,love it,love it..

another place worth checking out is Restoran Suraya at Kampung Baru..good food,reasonable price..they also have kerang bakar,mee celup,nasi air..

oops..another place is Kel Food (stands for Kelantan Food) near tmn melati,along MRR2 heading towards Gombak..its the same row as Hj Samuri Sate Kajang.a bit pricey,but good selection of lauk for nasi campur..expect a full hse on weekends during lunch.i like their nasi air..in the mornings they have all sorts of dishes from kuih to nasi kerabu,nasi dagang etc..