-   Health, Disease & Diet (https://forums.petfinder.my/forumdisplay.php?f=8)
-   -   Anyone like to share recipe for BARF? (https://forums.petfinder.my/showthread.php?t=4627)

Angelsoo 07-19-2010 01:27 PM

Anyone like to share recipe for BARF?

Hi guys,

I'd been feeding my dogs and cat BARF (raw food) but lately they kinda bored of it coz I keep feeding them the same stuff. I'd like to find some variant recipe to feed them. Any suggestion?

This is what I feed for them:

potato
sweet potato
onion
carrot

bayam or broccoli or cauliflower

chix or pork

fish (de-boned)

All items are blended together and serve raw except for fish which will be boiled 1st. Anyone else has other ingredient suggestions are most welcome to share. TQ

Nur_illiyana 07-19-2010 01:36 PM

Re: Anyone like to share recipe for BARF?

hi Angelsoo,
normally i refer to this website for cat food recipe http://www.healthyrecipesforpets.com/index.htm

dog is my buddy 07-22-2010 12:41 AM

here my BARF http://forums.petfinder.my/showthread.php?t=4545

Originally Posted by Angelsoo (Post 85340)
Hi guys,

I'd been feeding my dogs and cat BARF (raw food) but lately they kinda bored of it coz I keep feeding them the same stuff. I'd like to find some variant recipe to feed them. Any suggestion?

This is what I feed for them:

potato
sweet potato
onion
carrot

bayam or broccoli or cauliflower

chix or pork

fish (de-boned)

All items are blended together and serve raw except for fish which will be boiled 1st. Anyone else has other ingredient suggestions are most welcome to share. TQ

blackright 05-14-2011 01:50 AM

I always buy chicken thigh, wings, neck, leg for my dog to eat. raw.

Nonid to blend, bought back from supermarket/ wet market, wash and clean 'em, place in her food bowl, add in a tomatoes, carrots, cabbage...etc other vege
* btw, my dog lovesss tomatoes*
coat 'em with apple cider and olive oil, That's her meal for the day {happy}

The biting and chewing on raw meat with bones helps to clean her teeth, and I actually saved quite some money from buying rawhides, kibbles and medical bill ( allergic and skin problem previously).

She eats around 400gram meat + 100gram fiber ( vege) for a meal, 2 meals a day.

lohcl 08-30-2011 03:08 PM

Hi, I just saw this thread as I joined very recently.

I don't BARF but just feed raw. Somehow I don't add vegetables but just raw meat/chicken/pork. After reading around, felt that maybe veggie should not be too huge. So veggies is off and on and not a major thing.

Now, Max, our Golden is doing very well. We find him difficult for him to gain weight with kibble but with raw, he just loves it so much that we have to be careful of what we feed him. He is around 4.5 months now.

Furrenz.com 08-30-2011 05:46 PM

Glad to know that there are many raw feeders around. For the thread starter please be aware that onions can be poisonous to some dogs. I would exclude it from the dog's meal if I were you.

lohchl: I think it is totally fine to exclude vegetables once in a while, but I find with vege, it helps the dogs poo better.

lohcl 08-30-2011 05:51 PM

furrenz.com : what do you think of giving a bit of liver when the poo is hard? Whenever I see the stool being hard, I will add more organs and omit bone the following day. I follow the 80-10-10.

I am just wondering if there is any other advantage of adding in veggie? I do give some veggie when he comes in the kitchen and seems interested in the veggie.

Furrenz.com 08-31-2011 01:34 AM

I see you are keen to follow the prey model diet. I am not too familiar with that model but I guess it should work almost the same.

In the BARF diet we believe in giving vegetables as it contains many more supplements that is not found in meat and bones alone. With the fiber in it, it helps with their digestion and poo. Many ppl find it troublesome to prepare so they dun feed the vege.