oic, i'm an ovo-lacto vegetarian....i see...now i learn
actually we were told that for beginners, we can sort of "ease" into it, therefore we can take egg (as long as it is commercial processed egg that are not fertilised - therefore no kampung eggs) and we can certain take milk as milk is...milk - it is not derived from having the cow killed. as for the garlic and onion thingy, we were told for beginners we can take that since almost 90% of malaysian food contained garlic and onion - kalau tak makan...habis!
but my vow also allows me to take one-meat dish a day. so it's not that bad. it's useful if i'm having dinner with my father and my sis - they're not vegetarian and this enable me to have dinner with them when the occasions calls for it, otherwise i'd be a hermit

but i can go vegetarian for all meals.
initially i strived to follow the vow because i don't want to "pay penance" by observing full vegetarian diet for 2 days from sunrise to sunset. difficult but now i find that i look forward to eating non-meat dishes. it's light and good on the digestive system.
however i need to read up on on what are considered replacement alternative to B12 source and Iron - i was told that vegetarians need to be care not to be deficient on B12 and Iron - otherwise become anaemic.
also vegetarians need to be aware that because we don't take meat, our body temperature will become lower and we must ensure it is constantly maintained as the level when we consume meat so that all the enzymes activity that need constant temperature level can still function. hence i was advised to take food cooked with ginger or drink made with ginger. alternately can take black date (hak chou) in cooked food or drink. i have yet to discover about the rest but i look forward to it.
but one thing i don't understand - why is vegetarian food so expensive? more expensive compare to the same food prepared using some meat. can go bankrupt if i keep eating at vegetarian restaurant.
my fav indian food is still the indian stall at tmn desa foodcourt. his dhal is great, thick and tasty! :-) his home-made recipe i guess.
oh dear, all this talk about food makes me hungry