Old 10-03-2008, 08:33 PM

Default Re: Breed Profile : BURMESE

hi june

i spent the better part of the 3 hours at mph mdvalley today going through books on cat breeds, saw many pics and description of balinese, tonkinese, siamese, burmese. i think balinese is out if i understand the description properly, the hair is longish.

do you know? i think that all of us can be proud that our cats instead of being merely "domestic", "kucing kampung", they're truly exotic as they carry the genes and blood of their pedigreed ancestors. therefor our "local cats", "stray cats", kucing kampung", "dsh" are definitely more than good enough because they are so exotic. their gene pool is so diverse and beautiful and not to mention healthy (nature will eliminate those with defective genes!)

burmese, tonkinese, siamese, balinese are all related at one point or another and i won't be surprised if your cat carry the genes of both pedigree types

my exercise above was born out of a stubborn desire to find out whether samantha is a siamese, burmese or tonkinese and my eyes are still crossed.

if you could see the book i saw this afternoon - with the exception of balinese, the rest of them have a variety of colours and mixed colours including the one shown by your cat, there's a name for it.

definitely got burmese blood,,from the shape of the mouth but tonkinese, let me give my eyes some rest then i'll check the pics again

wait till i start on european shorthair and american wirehaired. and then bengal. already my sis is saying anna has bengal genes and i'm thinking nicy my tuxie has american wirehaired genes and ginger has european shorthaired genes.

but now i need a good shower to wake up, i stayed up until 2.30am this morning to cross-checked all these stuff! nitey nite for now