Old 08-08-2008, 10:27 PM

Default Re: My Peterpan broke his leg

June, I just came in and read your post. I am so dreadfully sorry and sad to hear about my Kotak Monster's beloved little brother PeterPan. My heart hurts a lot and I can't imagine yours and your hubby's, my dear friend ...

I went through a very similar situation involving a very thin and malnourished grey tabby male who had been abandoned by his owners (he was extremely sweet, manja and neutered, and there were no residential houses nearby - only shops/offices, that's why I say the boy had been abandoned) I met wandering along an office block. I buat detour before going to work to feed him every day for several weeks.

Then, he didn't show up for a couple of mornings but I continued to drop by hoping to see him again, fearing that he had fallen sick or got injured in some accident.

When he finally emerged several days later, I was devastated to see him calling to me and dragging himself towards me on a broken hind leg. I took him to the vet immediately and the vet explained the situation and options to me.

The vet also explained that in addition to the surgery implant/s (depending on how successful the operation will turn out), it is highly possible that the cat will still have to battle constant reinfection, pain and medication due to movement and pressure on the affected area for the rest of his life.

I still feel very, very pained just thinking about the experience and the extremely tough decision that I had to make with his continuous pain and suffering in mind. I loved him deeply (how couldn't I - he had been such a sweet boy), to me he was as precious as any of my kids at home and deserved to live like any other.

The decision had been very, very, very tough and I still cry when I think about it. It wasn't about the money because duit boleh kita cari balik anytime, tapi I didn't want the boboy to suffer extreme pain for the rest of his life.

My heart goes out to you and your hubby in this challenging moment and my prayers are on you and your hubby, and dear little PP because I can understand how precious he is and how very, very much you love him.

Take care, friend.