Re: Cats and Flea Control Products
Hi Sarah, Furkids
Furkid is correct as my vet gave me the same advice - so i made sure that either i bathed the cats first and waited at least 2 -3 days before i applied it or if i applied it prior to bathing, i did it at least 2-3 days before bathing. i know i'm sometimes quite forgetful (so many dates to remember) i wrote them down so i can check and when i applied the medication.
i now use advantage for my cats because it is easier to apply. my cats are quite naughty. initially i will locked each cat and myself in the small shower stall and to apply all over the cat but my cat is also smart, it would cling to me and clamber all over me and rubbing the product onto me until i'm all fully covered with it (and the cat has "rubbed" of most of it (i rubbed it into their skin and did it almost all over the cat's body). after getting such "application" myself for two months in a row, i went back to my vet and recounted my problem. she had a good laugh and recommended i used advantage instead but each month i'd buy the amount i needed from my vet because she has my cats' health and weight histories on record.
advantage is easy to use, just squeeze the content of the vial/pipet on the nape of the cat so that it can't lick it off and voila - done. no fuss. however i'm a bit "kiasu" i was afraid that the other cat would lick it so i also make the treated cat wear the e-collar (leftover from their neutering surgeries days). when the product has dried off on the skin, i take of the e-collar. it worked and save me countless hassle of having to monitor that the cat do not groom itself or other cat groom it before the medication dries off.
yeah, i do agree with you, some articles here (i'm not refering to myself as i post only general information that's widely considered public domain information) are very informative and provides more knowledge to forming a better understanding of our furkids.
do share with us your tips and secret to bathing all 9 cats in another post - that's the part i don't like the most and i'm sure my cats hate it as well - nicky doens't mind playing with running water from the faucets and fountains but if i bathe him, he'd hate me for weeks on end!