Old 01-30-2009, 10:13 AM

Default Re: need help helping strays. Pls..

Nana, day before yesterday I was feeding shreds of daging dada ayam kukus to a young boboy recuperating from a bad injury. Dia tak berapa biasa makan dari huluran jari and being so hungry from his past stray days (skin and bones), dia ngap dengan jari saya sekali.

He got me at the tip of my index finger. I immediately and quickly pressed and pressed and pressed out as much blood as I could so that the oozing blood would drain out as much bacteria as possible and clean out the wound.

I pressed for several minutes and kept pressing until no more blood would come out. I then quickly applied alcohol to disinfect the wound for a minute or so.

Several hours later, the wound felt a little smarting (not very painful) and a little red swelling. Not very. Judging from the large amount of blood that I managed to press out, I felt that I had managed to clean out the wound considerably and did not go to the clinic for a course of antibiotics.

Today my wound is healing and ok already.

So, Nana, you need to monitor the condition of each bite in order to know when you should go to a clinic for antibiotics pronto and when you can skip it and be ok. You need to press out as much blood as you can immediately and as fast as you possibly can before the wound closes by itself. This way, you can ensure that the amount of bacteria trapped is as minimal as possible.

But then, the problem is, sometimes during the excitement, you tak sedar pun that you had been bitten at another place (when the cat goes ngap! eeeoooooowww! ngap! hissssss!!!! ngap! oooowwwww!!!! and as such were not able to press out any blood all and this is the bad one. You only realise that you have been bitten there when the wound starts to sakit and swell up all red. And often, this is the one yang serious because of the bacteria that managed to get trapped inside.

"We organized in the past to make Trap-Neuter-Return possible. Today, we organize to make Trap-Neuter-Return the norm and to end the unnecessary killing of cats in animal shelters across the country and provide humane care." - Alley Cat Allies

Last edited by FurKids; 01-30-2009 at 10:19 AM.