Old 12-17-2009, 01:36 PM

Default Re: MPK Pound Dog Rescue Mission Udrway

MyAnimalCare Notice Board :

"Cinderella" and 10 more rescued today (Klang Dog Pound)

Remember her? She is the one with the facial wound, and she wanted very much to go with us yesterday, but our vet reminded us that we had no vet in Bentong to treat her, and her wounds might go from bad to worse. Also, LLLP had set the condition that we could only bring in healthy dogs, approved by vets.

My heart was very heavy all day, and the picture of her standing up looking at her friends being loaded into cages and then, onto the lorry, was playing in my mind all day, even while we were in Bentong. I felt so bad, but our hands were tight. Our resources were so limited and we had to work within them.

I really wished I could take her because I could feel that she wanted to go with us.

MDDB's Wani saw my posting (and the dog's photo) and offered to find a fosterer for her if I could get her out of the pound. I jumped at the chance! I almost couldn't believe this...

So, off we went for another round of (totally unplanned) rescue work. Also, we had to take the mother-dog and her four puppies, whom MDDB was going to foster as well.

And yes, we missed this one two days ago when we did the 12-puppy rescue. He had gone into the drain to hide and we couldn't get him out. This afternoon, he was out in the open, so I decided to catch him unawares before he scuttled into the drain again.

I went real close, from behind, as stealthily as I could....shh....gosh, I could see (and so can you) two huge ticks on his back. And...

Ouch, ouch, he was so fast, he turned around and bit me real hard! And it bled profusely. Well, that's a "good thing" because bleeding sheds toxins. Still, puppy bites are quite toxic, I know. Well, never mind, I just had my anti-tetanus shot a few months ago.

I quickly put him in a cage, but he bit me some more! Strong and confident little guy, I must say... Mr Balu was surprised how I caught him when he saw him in the cage. "Dia gigit lah...", he said (translation: he bites).

Since yesterday, after we left, two new batches of dogs had been brought in and amongst these, were five new puppies.

I called MDDB and asked if they could find fosterers and they said yes. So I told Mr Balu we'd take them all. Three of them were quite fierce. Mr Balu liked one of them and said he would be taking it back as his pet.

So, we took the four. Sorry guys, you have to squeeze a bit. It's just a short ride to the vet's. It's a ride that can save your life, so please bear with it.

Now, it's your turn....I'm calling her "Cinderella", or Cindy, for short (the one with the facial wound).

Mr Balu (the caretaker) says she used to be fat, but all I see now is skin and bones.

Even En Zakaria told me that this morning - that the dogs are fat when brought in, but after a week, they are stick thin already and can even squeeze through the bars. Well, that is not surprising if bread is the only thing fed to them...

Cindy followed me out as I opened the door - she understood. I hugged her and told her I would be taking her to a safe place. I told her I was so sorry I could not take her yesterday.

I told Mr Balu to put a rope around her neck as a leash, just in case. I was not about to lose her. Absolutely not!

So, after loading the ten of them (the mother and four puppies, and another four puppies, and the drain-dweller), I led Cindy into the car with me. She followed me most willingly, with Mr Balu holding the leash.

In the car, I made her stand and rest her front paws on my chest. She is so big!! Mr Balu said bye-bye to her.

As we drove, Cindy decided she wasn't too comfortable and started fidgetting. She finally stepped up and snuggled up on my lap. Ahh...that's more like it. I could also hug her all the way. What bliss....

When we finally reached the clinic, it was raining (again!). We got all the dogs out in the rain, and into the clinic.

Cindy was examined first. We were so glad (and quite surprised) to learn that she was tested negative for parvo, distemper and heartworm. Wow...a very strong girl! (despite being exposed to so much disease at the pound).

The vet said the wound looked like an acid scald. Gosh...human cruelty knows no bounds. Cindy is such a loving creature, who could do such a cruel thing to her?

But I'm so glad I had the chance to rescue her, and now, MDDB will look after her.

A fosterer came to collect the mother-dog and her four puppies.

The other puppies were also examined, but we could not stay on. Traffic was building up and we had to go home.

Please help us spread this message - do not ever abandon your pets, and please practise CNRM - it saves lives.

Name:	mini-CIMG0649.JPG
Views:	1440
Size:	26.8 KB
ID:	8580   Click image for larger version

Name:	mini-CIMG0783.JPG
Views:	1434
Size:	31.0 KB
ID:	8581   Click image for larger version

Name:	mini-CIMG0785.JPG
Views:	1411