Re: A good breeder.
Hmmm all good points but my 2 cents worth.
I think the most important thing abt breeding is the INTENTION of breeding. Pet trading is unfortunately one of the oldest form of business and it is up to us to be wise on setting our own standards and have our own principles when it comes to owning our pets.
I am a believer tht breeding should first and foremost must come from having passion abt a particular breed or breeds. And therefore when breeding, aim to produce litters that meet the breed standards. Also aim to share and expose the breed to others. Breeding should NOT be abt money.
If the objectives are per the above, then the breeder would only breed from show quality or breed quality pedigree cats, show their cats in shows not only to obtain titles for their cats but learn abt the breed standards of a particular pedigree which will help breeders figure out how to rectify the flaws tht their litters may have. This is on top of ur other points like health, cleanliness etc.
This costs a lot of money. Really. Hence the price of a pedigree kitten is 4 figures unless the breeder is rehoming adult cats or retired breeding cats so sometimes they charge an adoption fee, depending on breeder.
So suffice to say, when buying cats, I mostly only buy pedigree due to my passion for certain breeds but most importantly because I understand their intention. It will be a lie if I were to say I am not swayed by the cuteness of kittens at Mudah, Adppost or even here at PF, but at the end of it when I calculate the amount if money these breeders make off these cats in top of their regular jobs, especially when they dun bother to vaccinate or deworm I
tak sanggup :( Their profit margin is more than 100%!!
Most of u will say, pedigree mahal, breeders are sometimes choosy who they sell cats to etc etc but based on an average pedigree kitten cost of RM1.8k (depending in quality), I would rather save or beg borrow and steal hahahaha to obtain a pedigree to ensure it's health, authenticity of the breed, breeding methods etc.
Most ppl don't care abt the authenticity or background of their kittens but health??? If we buy from Mudah, say rm500, we will never know if the kitten is bred from a very close bloodline tht sometimes causes genetic defects and health issues, we dunno if the kittens have luekimia or FELV because I'm sure dun bother to spend money testing their breeding cats for those diseases etc etc etc. So sometimes, our medical bila on these kittens alone are way more expensive than obtaining a pedigree. Not to mention, in the event if death....it's really painful...
Otherwise we can always adopt a stray or shelters like SPCA and Paws.
Think abt it....why would we allow ppl to make money off cats which they claim part of family la, treat like own children la etc. aim sure there are other ways to fund their studies, families etc...
I may have offended some 'breeders' here, but I do hope I haven't. at the end of the day, it's just my opinion :)

Proud mummy of Sophie / Dexter / Yuki / Heidi / Optimus
Feed your cats BARF!
www.catnutrition.org