Go

Go Back   PetFinder.my > The Animal Corner > Cats & Kittens

Cats & Kittens General information and discussions on taking care of your feline buddy

Old 05-29-2012, 01:44 PM
PetFinder Buddy

Kynthia is on a distinguished road
Angry My 2 month old kitten has ringworm

Help! The two month old kitten has ringworm. I discovered three spots so far and am applying Himalaya Canisep cream -- it is improving. However, I think more areas are infected -- it's difficult to tell cos she has long fur. What should I do? Shave her?
Old 05-29-2012, 02:08 PM
Tiger's mom

aida12781 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: My 2 month old kitten has ringworm

i'm not an expert in this, but if anything wrong with my cat, i'll take him to vet. I think you should do the same too.
Old 05-29-2012, 02:20 PM
PetFinder Buddy

Quote:
Originally Posted by aida12781 View Post
i'm not an expert in this, but if anything wrong with my cat, i'll take him to vet. I think you should do the same too.
I did. But the vet was reluctant to prescribe meds as the kitten may lick off the meds -- which can be harmful. She advised me to clean her with salt water daily. I did that and the when i was at the pet shop the other day, the owner told me that Canisep cream is safe. The thing is, it's hard to spot other areas -- if the are also infected. Should I shave her?
Old 05-29-2012, 03:24 PM
Petfinder Moderator

Maneki Neko is on a distinguished road

Hi, Kynthia -- you might want to ask your vet about bathing the kitten with Malaseb shampoo. One of my rescued kittens was also covered with ringworm at a very young age, and the cream just couldn't keep up with it. My vet recommended the shampoo, and 3 baths with the Malaseb did the job. It's not inexpensive -- if I recall, a bottle cost nearly RM50, but it did cure the ringworm.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kynthia View Post