Old 06-19-2008, 08:20 AM

Default Cats need very little taking care of

I don't think you need to take care of your cat as much as you do with dogs. Cats like to be left alone most of the time. They are loners.

What do you think?
Old 07-28-2008, 02:24 PM

Default Re: Cats need very little taking care of

hi ezer

i agree and disagree. from what nicky, coco, anna and ginger taught me, they're not lone or solitary animal. witness the way my nicky, coco or ginger would howl or wail when they think they're left alone in the house (when either one just wandered upstairs while the rest of us are downstairs with the tv blasting). even quiet and dignified princess anna will also cry out if she thinks she's left alone. right on the dot, ever morning at 6.30am sharp, they want to join me in my bedroom, for tummy rubs, hugs, kisses before rushing me to give them their breakfast - at 7.30am sharp, princess anna will want to join my sis in her room for her hugs and kisses and cuddles before taking her (anna's) morning siesta (boy does she sleep soundly then).

also, when they go out for their walks, they'd like for you to join in and be part of their life, even if it's just to hang around your neighbours' front yard and do nothing (to your thinking) or you can just hang around and admire other people admiring your cat or admire and cheer them on while they hone their hunting skills on each other or on a piece of leaves. during this time, you also double-duty as the traffic warden. (but you're not allowed to join them when they go for the feline gatherings and their nocturnal activities - you're supposed to wait by their "hearth" for their returns....)

from time to time, they may not like you to fawn over them or fuss over them (depending on your cat's personality) but they surely do want your company, even though it's from a few feet away. also whenever they walk into a room and you're there, they'll give you a greeting and sometimes they may require just a "nod" and "hi" from you - at times they want you to fuss over them.

having said this, however they also require their own time alone either with their feline companions (a.k.a the rest of your cats) or on their own. this is when they will prefer that you don't harass them with a well-meant hugs or kisses and under this condition, they really don't not appreciate being hauled here or there or picked up. just a "hi" from afar will do just fine.

oh boy, when it comes to playtime, it's definitely company time, whether you join the feline gang in their wacky and wild games or just you and your cat in a tete-a-tete (with your limbs as the scratching post).

in short - although the cat may seem like they liked to be left alone, they actually need lots of nurturing and loving - just like us.

"show me a person who's an island and i show you..."

p/s: nicky does not like us to fawn over him in "public" (in front of the other cats) but he demands "me time" with lots of hugs, kisses, cuddles, and tummy rubs and praises when he's alone with us.

and true to my compliance-calling - i'm duty-bound to inform you that "loner" does not equate "need little care".

hah - gotcha!
Old 07-28-2008, 08:17 PM

ForPHiT^1 is on a distinguished road

I've never keep a cat before, just wanna ask you how you walk your cats? On leash like dogs or let them walk around freely?
Old 07-29-2008, 10:14 AM

hi

i'm not sure whether anyone will believe this but they actually follow me in a single file along the road. of course i'll be on the road, they either walk on the kerb-grass area or along the ledge of the drain where they can scoot into the drain for hiding if danger comes along. i call the drain (it's actually dry and clean when there's no rain and it's about 3 feet deep) their cat highway. each time before we leave the house, my instructions to them is : don't go the road, don't cross the road, don't play near the road, don't fight with each other, don't go too far and remember to come home when i call..

then i set out and they follow me. 1st stop on the tour is a neighbour's backyard 4 houses down. this neighbour keeps a big fat hen there and my kittens always stop to look at the hen (not hunting but just look). then a few more houses down the road, they stop and sit and lepak a bit, checking out new sights and smells while i just stand by the road side, either talking to them (to passerby i appeared to be talking to myself) or observing them and the surrounding for apparent danger (like a mad rotweiller running straight at you). then more walkie-walkie-walk along the road until the boundary of their territory, along the way they'll check out every single house, every single bush, etc.

then either i take them across the street to check out their favourite spots there or i head back to the corner near my house and we all "lepak" there, actually i lepak and they try their best to tease the dog opposite by staring at him!

the trip lasts as long as i have the time to be with them outdoor. if it's in the morning, usually between 10 mins to 15 mins sometimes half an hour if i use the time to do my qi gong exercise.

in the evening after i return from work, i spend up to 45mins or 1 hr outside with them. by that time, they're ready to come home for their meal and after which they'll go out again, this time for their own gathering without me, until around 10pm my bedtime.

they're odd, they'll come home at the appointed time and if i don't let them into the house, to them it means carte blanche to party the night away outside! same for morning routine, i'll let them into the house after i get ready and before i go to work.

no leash - they hate leashes and they freak out when i put leashes on them. i don't know how it happened, i don't know whether i trained them to walk with me or they trained me to walk with them but it somehow happened. it first started when they were around 6 - 7months old and i was curious to know how they spend their time and where they spend it and how far they go. so i just followed them one day and initially they were not comfortable with me following them. but on the 3rd attempt, they were actually happily waiting for me to join them.

i actually don't walk them, i joined them in their walk and i do as they do, i don't rush them, i don't hurry them (although i do it initially), i just hang around with them and double as traffic warden for them.

now i keep them indoors when one of them (and myself as well) almost got ran down by a car, not to mention they almost caught either fungi infection or mange infection and we spent quite a bit on 4 cats not to mention the hassle of trying to feed medicine to 4 cats and having to buy additional food to entice them to eat medicine.

now they're 100% indoor cats and i'm still trying to figure out how to train them to walk on the leash. it doesn't work that well as they are afraid when they're so constrained and any odd sound will set them off and they'll freak out.

nowadays, i take them out for a drive round the neighbourhood in the evening, between 9pm-10pm, when it's dark and they can see outside easily without anyone seeing them. it's also cooler at night. it's a family affair with my sis going too and we show them the sights around the neighbourhood without them having to walk around. it works actually and they will be very compliance when we tell them no funny stuff in the car, no scratching or fighting or whining to go out and definitely no attempt to escape as we carry them individually to the car. but coco didn't understand the concept of glass window and launched herself at "perceived freedom" with such enthusiasm and the end result : a loud bonk and a sore nose. nowadays we knock on the glass windows to let her know it's actually a barrier there.

why don't you try it? and share with us the result
Old 07-29-2008, 04:30 PM

ForPHiT^1 is on a distinguished road

I dont have any cat at home. Only have dogs, 1 toy poodle and a mongrel that looks like Rover from Paws. The mongrel would follow me when he's inside the house but once the gate is open, he'll sprint off to the gate. So, he is not allow to go out without a leash.
Old 07-30-2008, 08:57 AM

Haha... ashley... I guess there are cat ppl and then there are dog ppl.. I am the latter...

Dogs really don't have much of alone time.. if they can they'll bug you all day long.. they are like 5 year old boys..
Old 08-22-2008, 02:20 PM

nuin83 is on a distinguished road

my cats love to follow me wherever i'm outside of the house...looks like they really love to go out walking with me..even i'm not calling them..they keep following me..hehe..
Old 08-22-2008, 02:27 PM

Default Cats need very little taking care of

Mine is indoor cats.Walk my cat?? in my dream.They are scare of strangers even to my own mother!!! But I think I have to agree with you about taking care of cats and dogs. I can leave my cats at home all day long and they didn't complaint as long as there's enough food and water for them. Except for Peterpan who still need my full attention because of his broken leg. Occasionally my cats wants to be cuddle and that's about it.

Haha... ashley... I guess there are cat ppl and then there are dog ppl.. I am the latter...

Dogs really don't have much of alone time.. if they can they'll bug you all day long.. they are like 5 year old boys..
Old 08-22-2008, 02:35 PM

all my pets love to follow me around.. the cats and the dogs.. i can't go upstairs without the whole animal train following me. if i sit down, at least two cats will be trying to settle down on my lap and when i go to sleep everyone follows me to my room. ninja fat boy will snuggle right up against me in bed. he's the softest bolster!
Old 08-22-2008, 10:53 PM

comyncats is on a distinguished road

I don't think you need to take care of your cat as much as you do with dogs. Cats like to be left alone most of the time. They are loners.

What do you think?
IT's not so much a matter of 'care' as the way they socialise. My cats are happy enough to open an eye and go back to sleep if I walk through the room, but if I sit down, wham! There they are, wanting attention and petting. They're just different from dogs, rather than requiring less care.
Old 08-23-2008, 01:07 PM

I disagree that cats are loners. They may like some time alone, but they are just as affectionate as dogs and want to be around their human companions.

The moment I opened my grill gate, my cat will come running to the main door....I can hear the tinkle of the bell he wears. When I opened the main door, he will be behind the door, and will head butt me a few times. (Cats head butt to show affection as opposed to dogs licking.)

Depending on how long he's been left alone, he may be satisfied with just a pat on his head or he might want to be picked up and cuddled.

And wherever I go, if he's awake, he'll follow me. My hubby calls him my shadow. He also likes to do things together...........he'll eat when we eat, which also means, if we ate out, we'll have to hand feed him when we return as his food will be untouched.

The only difference, I think, is that cats are fearful creatures and will hide when we have visitors.

Other than that, they tend to seek their human companions for attention and protection. I remember each time when there's thunder or my home alarm system was triggered, Blackie will come running to me, meowing so loudly I could hear him over the racket of the rumbling thunder or siren. And he'll be trying to get in between my feet like as if that's the most secure place to be. There're many times when I nearly tripped over him as I can't move without him getting in the way. I usually end up having to pick him up and carry him on my shoulder.
Old 08-26-2008, 05:57 PM

hi all

yes, my cats are also like that but each of they possess different degree of socialization. i can't say that all of them are lap cats as they were past the window for human-cat socialisation when they came to me. however they may choose to follow us closely sometimes and at times, they're underfoot.

i have high hopes of grooming ginger to be a lap cat. if he does that, the others will follow suit.
Old 08-26-2008, 11:27 PM

hi all

yes, my cats are also like that but each of they possess different degree of socialization. i can't say that all of them are lap cats as they were past the window for human-cat socialisation when they came to me. however they may choose to follow us closely sometimes and at times, they're underfoot.

i have high hopes of grooming ginger to be a lap cat. if he does that, the others will follow suit.
Best of luck, ashley. And do keep us posted on the progress.
Old 08-28-2008, 01:44 PM

I walk both my cats emot n sly on leashes... definitely different from dog walking whereby u lead, the dog follow rite? for cats case, they lead, i will follow... so far so good....

another thing is emot loves to travel in my car... everyday she will wait for me n when i reach home she will jump into the car... so have to bring her round the taman with her sitting at the dashboard, sometimes the seat next to me or even at the back... juz looking out n enjoying the view...

i'll open the windows abit but not enuff for her to go out.. so as to let her smell the ouside air n feel the breeze...

she enjoys it alot n will merajuk with me if i dun bring her...ehehhehehe

most of the time at home she will follow me around....usually she will wait for me at the gate after her nap underneath the pandan leaves (pokok). then we will go in.. feed her... play with her... nite time i'll call her n say "jom emot... naik atas, tidor...jom..." she run upstairs first n lepak on the bed waiting for me... she won't wake up until i wake up... ehehhehe.....

there's this once during euro footbal, i woke at 4 am coz heard lots of noise at the living room.. there were a few ppl watching the game.. i went down, emot also followed.. she stood next to me and looked at everyone... u should have seen her face.. it was funny... eheheh... then i told her... come on la... lets go upstairs n sleep....n she followed me back to bed n sleep till the next morning....

that is why i love her ssooooooo much...... very 'kuai' cat...doesnt even disturb u when u clean the fish... just teman you only... even when my bf's mon cleaning or tidying the house she will accompany his mom...

at times she will even wait outside your bathroom to finish bathing or even do your business.... ehhehehe
Old 08-28-2008, 02:06 PM

I walk both my cats emot n sly on leashes... definitely different from dog walking whereby u lead, the dog follow rite? for cats case, they lead, i will follow... so far so good....

another thing is emot loves to travel in my car... everyday she will wait for me n when i reach home she will jump into the car... so have to bring her round the taman with her sitting at the dashboard, sometimes the seat next to me or even at the back... juz looking out n enjoying the view...

i'll open the windows abit but not enuff for her to go out.. so as to let her smell the ouside air n feel the breeze...

she enjoys it alot n will merajuk with me if i dun bring her...ehehhehehe

most of the time at home she will follow me around....usually she will wait for me at the gate after her nap underneath the pandan leaves (pokok). then we will go in.. feed her... play with her... nite time i'll call her n say "jom emot... naik atas, tidor...jom..." she run upstairs first n lepak on the bed waiting for me... she won't wake up until i wake up... ehehhehe.....

there's this once during euro footbal, i woke at 4 am coz heard lots of noise at the living room.. there were a few ppl watching the game.. i went down, emot also followed.. she stood next to me and looked at everyone... u should have seen her face.. it was funny... eheheh... then i told her... come on la... lets go upstairs n sleep....n she followed me back to bed n sleep till the next morning....

that is why i love her ssooooooo much...... very 'kuai' cat...doesnt even disturb u when u clean the fish... just teman you only... even when my bf's mon cleaning or tidying the house she will accompany his mom...

at times she will even wait outside your bathroom to finish bathing or even do your business.... ehhehehe
your emot reminds me of my girl oscar the grouch! she also likes to follow me around a lot. when its time to sleep, all the cats except coco the cranky one will follow me up to my room. my little oscar girly sleeps on my pillow right above my head every night. this actually kills me coz i'm allergic to cats but its so nice having her there and i think she feels more secure being near me. every morning when i wake up she'll wake up too and follow me to the bathroom. i have to let her in coz if i don't she'll sit outside the bathroom door and yell her head off. once she gets in, she flops down on the mats and rolls around meowing to herself then she'll get up and flop on my feet and continue rolling around and meowing.. when i brush my teeth she sits on the toilet cover and watches actually she'll watch anything you do in the bathroom

Name:	oscarthegrouch.jpg
Views:	323
Size:	42.6 KB
ID:	486  
Old 09-05-2008, 09:10 PM

wahh..look at her face... just watching you take her pic... ehhehe..

my emot wont bising2.. she will sit outside the door quietly n patiently.... since young she had that habit till now....ehehehe
Old 09-08-2008, 01:55 PM

syunichi is on a distinguished road

For me,coz I have few strays with me, they are happy in groups. Someone to play with, always anyone to mess with. Alone, they'll try to find a companion, such as house cats prefer to stick with its owner. Showing off or even trying their best to get your attention. But in the end...whatever it is, they are still adorable :)
Old 09-08-2008, 02:19 PM

syunichi is on a distinguished road

your emot reminds me of my girl oscar the grouch! she also likes to follow me around a lot. when its time to sleep, all the cats except coco the cranky one will follow me up to my room. my little oscar girly sleeps on my pillow right above my head every night. this actually kills me coz i'm allergic to cats but its so nice having her there and i think she feels more secure being near me. every morning when i wake up she'll wake up too and follow me to the bathroom. i have to let her in coz if i don't she'll sit outside the bathroom door and yell her head off. once she gets in, she flops down on the mats and rolls around meowing to herself then she'll get up and flop on my feet and continue rolling around and meowing.. when i brush my teeth she sits on the toilet cover and watches actually she'll watch anything you do in the bathroom

HmMmmm....cuddly
Old 09-08-2008, 07:54 PM

cats love attention too....
they need caring as well if not they turn into wild side :)

Most cats are hunter....even if they are domestic cats still there is a hunter instinct inside them - they need to go out and explore...climb tree, explore, go up the roof top, go up high rise building. When they are bored, they will come back.

funny part is some cats when they go out - they dont know how to come back one (it is true?)

last time my cousin got one very nice fat orange cat - awww really cute like garfield...... lazy, playful.....my cousin used to live in those wooden house back those days until she shifted to a landed property house. The cat also go along.
1 week later - the cat goes missing. Old house - the cat goes out - know how to come back. Maybe change of environment - we never saw him after then :( and i missed him so much. His name is bootix :)