Old 07-15-2009, 02:24 PM

Default FeLV

apa nak buat bro.nothing much we can do tp mcm Bina cakap.make her comfortable smp ke her final day aku kena beli cage lebih besar.sebab yg ada skrg ni Coklat tak suka.dia selalu bergendang kat dlm klu aku letak.suma benda dlm cage tu dia kasih mess up.aku ingat nak beli Paku punya tailor made cage.besar. 6 kaki x 5 kaki.

Sedih, June ... yes, of course sedih, that is why I kata saya sendiri walaupun mulut cakap June jangan nangis, saya sendiri pun sedih dan nangis ...

June, the vaccine is not 100% preventive or protective. Also, it takes time and boosters to actually build up the body system to a level which can offer protection. Did you do any check on the immunity level built up? I doubt so, we just assume that once vaccinated the level of antibody generated is high enough and that we are safe and sometimes that is not the case. Also, if the vaccination boosters are not given in the optimum period, the protection level can be reduced and sometimes jadi none at all balik and you need to redo the whole process from step 1.
Old 07-15-2009, 05:12 PM
saanggaaatt suke MeOwww!

habidaiya is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to habidaiya Send a message via Skype™ to habidaiya
Default Re: FeLV

apa nak buat bro.nothing much we can do tp mcm Bina cakap.make her comfortable smp ke her final day aku kena beli cage lebih besar.sebab yg ada skrg ni Coklat tak suka.dia selalu bergendang kat dlm klu aku letak.suma benda dlm cage tu dia kasih mess up.aku ingat nak beli Paku punya tailor made cage.besar. 6 kaki x 5 kaki.
sis june, Semoga tabah hadapi dugaan yer...
Old 07-16-2009, 01:22 PM

Default FeLV

Tak tau nak kata dan buat apa lg dah Td Dr Chee yg buat blood test kat kuicng2 lain sebab Dr Jon MC.Yg positif FeLV ialah Peterpan dan Oni.Daybonk negative tp showing the symptom.jd kena asingkan dia juga.Ikut kata Dr Chee, Peterpan ialah carrier FeLV Sedih sesangat ni.Kesian Peterpan.tak dpt tido with me starting tonite

Originally Posted by habidaiya View Post
sis june, Semoga tabah hadapi dugaan yer...
Old 07-16-2009, 02:08 PM

booboo is on a distinguished road

laa...kak june...daybonk n peterpan pon da kena ga ker....ishk...sabar banyak2 na kak june (hugs)
Old 07-16-2009, 02:21 PM

meira is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to meira

peterpan is the carrier?omg..kak junee..peterpan bukan aktif ke selama ni..die tade tunjuk sympton(based on cite kak june selama ni) pun?

siannye kucing2 kak june..skrang semua dh ade sympton eh?
Old 07-16-2009, 02:29 PM

Oh June, oh Peter cayang, I am soooooo very sorry to hear all that ...

June, sorry to trouble you at this point, but I hope you are able to share some answers to the following questions ...

1) What are the specific symptoms that you say Daybonk and Momok are showing besides being kurus?

2) What kind of test were used by both Dr. Jon and Dr. Chee? Was ELISA or some other test used?

ELISA (Enzyme linked immunosorbant assay) test which checks for evidence of the virus in blood, saliva, or tears is the preferred screening test and all positive screening tests should be repeated. Specialized equipment and training is needed to accurately run the ELISA test.

3) Was the IFA test used for confirmation?

The IFA (Immunofluorescent antibody) test should be used to confirm a positive ELISA test. It is an additional test for the FeLV that checks for evidence of the virus in white blood cells. This test is used to confirm a positive ELISA test, and signifies a persistent infection.

All cats with negative test results that are exposed to FeLV positive cats should be retested not sooner than 28 days after exposure.

June, FeLV positive cats can live a high quality life for months to years. No test procedure for this disease is foolproof. Some cats can have false negatives on the test and others can have false positives. This is why all diagnostic tests are interpreted in light of other findings.

Cats that are positive on this test should be rechecked in 30 days since some of them can become negative.

Be strong, June .... your whole household, especially PP are in our prayers.
"We organized in the past to make Trap-Neuter-Return possible. Today, we organize to make Trap-Neuter-Return the norm and to end the unnecessary killing of cats in animal shelters across the country and provide humane care." - Alley Cat Allies
Old 07-16-2009, 03:06 PM

Default FeLV

Bro,aku call Dr Chee,he said dia buat ANTI GEN test bukan ELISA & IFA.Ambil blood test.

Daybonk and Mokmok kurang mau makan,kencing warna oren,moody and spend most of their time sleeping.tak mcm selalu. itu mcm Coklat punya symptoms dulu. Daybonk not as kurus as Mokmok.

Fening,fening

Oh June, oh Peter cayang, I am soooooo very sorry to hear all that ...

June, sorry to trouble you at this point, but I hope you are able to share some answers to the following questions ...

1) What are the specific symptoms that you say Daybonk and Momok are showing besides being kurus?

2) What kind of test were used by both Dr. Jon and Dr. Chee? Was ELISA or some other test used?

ELISA (Enzyme linked immunosorbant assay) test which checks for evidence of the virus in blood, saliva, or tears is the preferred screening test and all positive screening tests should be repeated. Specialized equipment and training is needed to accurately run the ELISA test.

3) Was the IFA test used for confirmation?

The IFA (Immunofluorescent antibody) test should be used to confirm a positive ELISA test. It is an additional test for the FeLV that checks for evidence of the virus in white blood cells. This test is used to confirm a positive ELISA test, and signifies a persistent infection.

All cats with negative test results that are exposed to FeLV positive cats should be retested not sooner than 28 days after exposure.

June, FeLV positive cats can live a high quality life for months to years. No test procedure for this disease is foolproof. Some cats can have false negatives on the test and others can have false positives. This is why all diagnostic tests are interpreted in light of other findings.

Cats that are positive on this test should be rechecked in 30 days since some of them can become negative.

Be strong, June .... your whole household, especially PP are in our prayers.
Old 07-16-2009, 03:29 PM

Bro,aku call Dr Chee,he said dia buat ANTI GEN test bukan ELISA & IFA.Ambil blood test.

Daybonk and Mokmok kurang mau makan,kencing warna oren,moody and spend most of their time sleeping.tak mcm selalu. itu mcm Coklat punya symptoms dulu. Daybonk not as kurus as Mokmok.

Fening,fening
June, yes, memang dia buat test untuk detect the presence of viral antigen (protein) in the blood, but what test did he use if not ELISA? We just would like to have an indication of the accuracy of the test results - both positive as well as negative. We'd like to be more sure.
"We organized in the past to make Trap-Neuter-Return possible. Today, we organize to make Trap-Neuter-Return the norm and to end the unnecessary killing of cats in animal shelters across the country and provide humane care." - Alley Cat Allies
Old 07-16-2009, 03:36 PM

June,

I'm so sorry to hear this. I do not know what to say except post some info regarding FeLv here....it's taken from the Cat Owner's Home Veterinary Handbook Third Edition, pages 89-93.

Hopefully this will help all of us to understand FeLv better......

*****extracted from Cat Owner's Home Veterinary Handbook Third Edition, pages 89-93*****

FELINE LEUKEMIA VIRUS DISEASE COMPLEX

The feline leukemia virus (FeLV) is responsible for more cat diseases than any
other infectious agent and is second only to trauma as the leading cause of
death in household cats. It is the most important cause of cancer in cats (see chapter 19) and significantly contributes to the severity of other feline diseases.

The virus is transmitted from one cat to another by infected saliva.
Sharing water bowls or food dishes, cat-to-cat grooming, and cat bites can also spread the disease. The virus can be shed to a lesser extent in urine and feces.

Kittens can acquire the virus in utero and through infected mother’s milk.
The incidence of active infection varies. About 1 to 2 percent of healthy,
free-roaming cats are infected. In multicat households and in catteries, the
incidence may be higher, in some cases with 20 to 30 percent of cats showing the presence of FeLV virus in the blood. About 50 percent show neutralizing antibodies, indicating prior infection from which the cat has recovered. Ill, feral or free-roaming urban cats may have an incidence as high as 40 percent.

Repeated or continuous exposure is necessary for transmission of the disease.
For healthy adult cats, very prolonged exposure is required to develop
infection. Kittens and young cats have less resistance. The virus does not
appear in blood tests until a cat has been exposed for at least four weeks. After 20 weeks of exposure, 80 percent of cats are infected. In others, it may take up to a year. Environmental stresses, including illness, overcrowding, and poor sanitation, play a role in weakening a cat’s resistance to the virus and make infection more likely.

The feline leukemia virus has three subgroups. A single cat may have one
or more of these subgroups. Subgroup A is the most common, and this type is
responsible for the immunosuppression that leaves FeLV-positive cats open to
many infections. Subgroup B, when combined with subgroup A, is responsible
for many of the FeLV-associated cancers. Subgroup C is the least common
form and is responsible for severe anemias and bone marrow damage.
Feline oncovirus-associated cell membrane antigen (FOCMA) is a protein
found on some feline cancer cells and is seen in both FeLV-positive and FeLVnegative cats. Cats who have antibodies to this protein are protected from certain cancers, such as lymphomas. However, they are not protective against FeLV infection or other FeLV-related diseases.

Signs of Illness
The initial illness lasts 2 to 16 weeks. Signs are nonspecific and include fever,
apathy, and loss of appetite and weight. Other signs are vomiting and constipation or diarrhea. Some cats develop enlarged lymph nodes, anemia, and pale mucous membranes. Death at this stage is not common and signs may beso mild that they are missed.

Following exposure to the virus, there are four possible outcomes for cats:

1. About 30 percent of cats do not develop an infection at all—whether
due to resistance or inadequate exposure is not known.

2. About 30 percent of cats develop a transient viremia with infectious
virus present in their blood and saliva for less than 12 weeks. This stage
is followed by the production of neutralizing antibodies that extinguish
the disease. These cats are cured, cannot transmit the disease, have a
normal life expectancy, and are at no increased risk of developing FeLVrelated
diseases.

3. About 30 percent of cats develop a persistent viremia with infectious
virus present in their blood and saliva for more than 12 weeks.
Persistently viremic cats do not mount an effective antiviral immune
response and are susceptible to a number of diseases that are invariably
fatal. About 50 percent die within six months and 80 percent succumb
within three and a half years. These cats shed the virus while they
are alive.

4. About 5 to 10 percent of cats develop a latent infection. These cats are
able to produce virus-neutralizing antibodies that eliminate the virus
from blood and saliva but do not extinguish the virus completely. The
virus persists in the bone marrow and in T-cell lymphocytes. Over many
months, the majority of latent-infected cats overcome and extinguish
the virus, so the incidence of latent infection after three years is quite
low. In latent-infected cats, the disease can become activated during
periods of stress or concurrent illness, leading to a recurrence of viremia.

Cats who remain persistently latent are at increased risk for developing
FeLV-associated diseases. Queens who have a latent infection may
infect their kittens in utero or while nursing.

In cats with persistent viremia, the FeLV virus suppresses the cat’s immunity,
thereby allowing other diseases to develop. Diseases potentiated by the
FeLV virus include feline infectious peritonitis, feline infectious anemia, feline
viral respiratory disease complex, toxoplasmosis, chronic cystitis, periodontal
disease, and opportunistic bacterial infections. The virus can also cause bone
marrow suppression with anemia and spontaneous bleeding.

Maternally transmitted infection is responsible for some cases of reproductive
failure, including repeated abortion, stillbirth, fetal reabsorption, and
fading kitten syndrome.

About 30 percent of cats with persistent viremia develop a virus-related
cancer months or years after exposure. Lymphosarcoma is the most common
variety. One or more painless masses may be felt in the abdomen. There may
be enlargement of lymph nodes in the groin, armpit, neck, or chest. The cancer may spread to the eyes, brain, skin, kidneys, and other organs, producing a variety of symptoms.

Leukemia is another malignant transformation. It is defined as rapid and
uncontrolled growth of white blood cells. It may be accompanied by anemia
and other changes in the blood-cell picture. It is much less common than
lymphosarcoma.

Diagnosing FeLV

Currently, there are two tests available to detect FeLV infection.

1. The IFA test, performed by a reference laboratory, detects virus antigen
in infected white blood cells. This indicates that the bone marrow is
infected and there is a high probability that the cat is persistently
viremic and is shedding the virus in his saliva, making him infective to
other cats. About 97 percent of IFA-positive cats remain viremic for life
and never extinguish the virus.

2. The ELISA test detects virus antigen in whole blood, serum, saliva, and
tears. Blood is the recommended sample for testing. A rapid screening
leukemia test kit is available for home and veterinary clinic use. The
ELISA test is more likely to detect weak, early, or transient infections.
The common practice is to screen for FeLV using the ELISA test. If positive,
the cat may have a transient viremia from which he will recover completely, or he may be in the early stages of a progressive infection. A positive ELISA test should be confirmed with an IFA test. A positive IFA test indicates that the cat is shedding virus and is capable of infecting others.

The ELISA test should be repeated in 8 to 12 weeks to see if the virus has
been eliminated. The IFA test should also be repeated at this time because if
the cat was in an early stage of infection, the IFA initially may not have been
positive but may become so after 12 weeks.

Cats with latent infection test negative on both the ELISA and IFA tests.
This is because the virus is absent in both serum and white cells. The only
way to diagnose a latent infection is to remove a sample of the cat’s bone marrow containing the dormant virus and grow the cells in culture.
Vaccination does not interfere with FeLV testing results.

Treating FeLV

Despite research, there is currently no effective treatment for FeLV. Cats who are healthy but FeLV-positive can live long, full lives in many cases. They need excellent care, including parasite control, a strictly indoor life, top-quality nutrition, regular grooming, and minimal stress.

Once ill, there are limited options. These include the drugs ImmunoRegulin,
interferon, and acemannan.

Cancers produced by the FeLV virus cannot be cured and FeLV-positive
cats with associated cancers have an average survival time of only six months,even with extensive treatment. Early diagnosis may allow successful relief, but not cure, in some individuals. Treatment includes antibiotics, vitaminmineral supplements, transfusions, and anticancer drugs. Cats who respond to the medications may be made more comfortable and their lives may be prolonged. Unfortunately, there is no way to know in advance which cats are likely to respond. Such cats will continue to shed virus and thus present a hazard to the health of other cats with whom they come in contact.

Controlling and Preventing FeLV

Control depends first on accurate identification and removal of all viruspositive cats from multicat households, shelters, and catteries. Vaccination programs are secondary. FeLV vaccines are not as effective as some other vaccines, but do provide some protection (see page 109).

The following steps may prevent the spread of infection in a cattery, shelter,
or isolated cat colony.

• Do not introduce new cats into the group without first testing them.
• IFA test all cats on the premises and repeat the test in three months.
Remove all cats who test positive after each test. All positive cats
should be isolated and retested after three months.
• All cats with two negative tests are considered free of active disease and
not likely to transmit the disease to other cats. Retest annually.
• Do not allow new cats into the colony until they have been quarantined,
tested twice (three months apart), and found to test negative.
• Toms and queens should be certified free of virus before being bred.
• Clean and disinfect the house, bowls, bedding, and cat quarters with
ordinary household detergents or bleach solution. The FeLV virus is not
hardy and is easily killed. Be sure to disinfect spots the cat might have
soiled with urine, saliva, or feces.

There is no evidence that FeLV has ever caused an illness in humans.
However, the virus does replicate in human tissue cells in the laboratory. In
theory, children and patients with immune deficiency diseases could be at
risk. As a sensible precaution, such individuals, and women who are pregnant
or are considering becoming pregnant, are advised to avoid contact with
virus-positive cats.

********end******
Old 07-16-2009, 03:40 PM

June, furkids is right. There are only the IFA and ELISA tests.....read under "Diagnosing FeLV"
Old 07-16-2009, 04:23 PM

rozzygee is on a distinguished road

I terribly shocked by this news June!.. Apa yg sis tau, u r very detailed about cats. I learnt a lot from you and zai.. dats Y sis tak sangka langsung upon all ppl, yr cats boleh kena this virus. It really made me worry coz i have many cats at home.. and i am not as detailed as u r.. Mmg sah kena bg lebih perhatian.. All i can say to u June, bersabarlah, bear with them.. *hugs n kisses*
Old 07-16-2009, 04:29 PM

Originally Posted by rozzygee View Post
I terribly shocked by this news June!.. Apa yg sis tau, u r very detailed about cats. I learnt a lot from you and zai.. dats Y sis tak sangka langsung upon all ppl, yr cats boleh kena this virus. It really made me worry coz i have many cats at home.. and i am not as detailed as u r.. Mmg sah kena bg lebih perhatian.. All i can say to u June, bersabarlah, bear with them.. *hugs n kisses*
Tu la Gee

kita hanya mampu berusaha sebaik mungkin

tapi yang menentukan adalah DIA...SWT

June , I know your heart is breaking to pieces now

please be strong sis...

You and your kids are in my prayers always..
Old 07-16-2009, 04:55 PM

linda_gamble is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to linda_gamble

kak june..kuatkan semangat, mentak n emosi...
kami sentiasa ada bagi sokongan kat akak....
Old 07-16-2009, 04:57 PM

Tu la Gee kita hanya mampu berusaha sebaik mungkin tapi yang menentukan adalah DIA...SWT

June , I know your heart is breaking to pieces now please be strong sis... You and your kids are in my prayers always..
Yes, Kak cakap betul, we try our best but sometimes things happen ... they can pick up the infection from anywhere ... since small from Mama, later on anywhere ... even from clinics where so many sick animals congregate ... mcm hospital juga la ... that is why with the H1N1 spreading out of control, people are advised against going out especially to crowded areas because droplet infection is so very hard to contain.
Old 07-16-2009, 05:21 PM
saanggaaatt suke MeOwww!

habidaiya is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to habidaiya Send a message via Skype™ to habidaiya

Yes, Kak cakap betul, we try our best but sometimes things happen ... they can pick up the infection from anywhere ... since small from Mama, later on anywhere ... even from clinics where so many sick animals congregate ... mcm hospital juga la ... that is why with the H1N1 spreading out of control, people are advised against going out especially to crowded areas because droplet infection is so very hard to contain.
kite hanya merancang..Allah jua yang menentukan..
sesungguhnya bagi sesuatu perkara itu..Allah jua yang Maha Mengetahui...
KIta hanya yang mampu...Berdoa dan bertawakal..
Sesunguhnya insan yang tabah itu adalah golongan insan yang bersabar,
dan bagi insan yang bersabar dlm dugaan itu Allah menjanjikan sesuatu yang bermakna buatnya..
Old 07-16-2009, 05:40 PM

Default FeLV

FK,Charlene.they use neither IFA nor ELISA. I asked Dr Chee already this afternoon. If there any other method to get the result??

I read the book last nite Charlene,so now I wonder if the test is valid?? (cross my finger & hoping it was not )

June, furkids is right. There are only the IFA and ELISA tests.....read under "Diagnosing FeLV"
Old 07-16-2009, 05:43 PM

Default FeLV

Zai,suami aku sedih sesangat bila aku call dia tadi.kami sama2 pergi amik kucing2 kat clinic.ni baru balik

Peterpan Penghulu rumah & Coklat ialah Security Guard rumah

Ko tau tak,aku rasa mcm the entire population kat rmh kena wipe out

Tu la Gee

kita hanya mampu berusaha sebaik mungkin

tapi yang menentukan adalah DIA...SWT

June , I know your heart is breaking to pieces now

please be strong sis...

You and your kids are in my prayers always..
Old 07-16-2009, 06:30 PM

I just called gasing veterinary hospital, but dr prem is busy with a patient right now. his staff is not sure what tests they use to diagnose FeLV, but said they use two tests. she suggested that i call back at 6:45pm and speak to dr prem himself.

dr prem is a bit on the expensive side, but if you don't mind the costs, you could try calling him at 03-7782 3553 at 6:45pm.....I might be cooking at that time...

hope it's false alarm.....good luck and stay calm & strong for your kitties.

FK,Charlene.they use neither IFA nor ELISA. I asked Dr Chee already this afternoon. If there any other method to get the result??

I read the book last nite Charlene,so now I wonder if the test is valid?? (cross my finger & hoping it was not )
Old 07-16-2009, 06:50 PM

rozzygee is on a distinguished road

June, sis pernah buat FeLV check on my Musyang. The vet use this method as shown in this pic. Do yr vet guna same method?

Doc cucuk blood from his throat..
Old 07-16-2009, 07:13 PM

Default FeLV

ya, kak.inilah method yg Dr Jon & Dr Chee guna.

Originally Posted by rozzygee View Post
June, sis pernah buat FeLV check on my Musyang. The vet use this method as shown in this pic. Do yr vet guna same method?

Doc cucuk blood from his throat..