Go Back   PetFinder.my > The Animal Corner > Small Mammals - Furry & Cute > Rabbits

Old 09-16-2008, 10:09 AM

somebunny is on a distinguished road
Default Rabbit's Diet 101

A RABBIT'S BASIC DIET:
  • Fresh, clean water
  • Fresh pellets
  • Hay
  • Vegetables (optional - see below)
  • Treats (optional - see below)

Note: Any changes to a rabbit’s diet should be done gradually to avoid upsetting their digestive system e.g. when changing pellet brands, mix the old brand with the new brand and gradually decrease the old brand while increasing the new brand, over the course of one week

BABY RABBITS (UP TO 6 MONTHS)
  • Birth to 3 weeks - mother's milk
  • After 3 weeks - mother's milk, introduce alfalfa hay and pellets gradually (the higher calcium content of alfalfa hay is necessary for growing bones)
  • After 4 weeks - mother's milk, unlimited alfalfa hay and pellets
  • 8 weeks to 6 months - unlimited alfalfa hay and pellets
  • 12 weeks and above - introduce vegetables, if desired (one type at a time, in small amounts. Monitor rabbit to ensure no soft stool, otherwise discontinue and try again another time or try a different type)

YOUNG ADULT RABBITS (6 MONTHS TO 1 YEAR)
  • Introduce timothy hay or other grass hay (e.g oat, brome or orchard hay)
  • Reduce alfalfa hay until rabbit is solely on timothy hay (alfalfa hay is higher in protein and calcium, lower in fiber – not suitable for adult rabbits, unless your rabbit is underweight, recovering from surgery, pregnant or nursing)
  • Decrease pellets to 1/8 to 1/4 cup per 5 lbs. body weight (1 cup = 250ml)
  • Vegetables (optional)
  • Treats (optional)

MATURE ADULT RABBITS (1 YEAR to 6 YEARS)
  • Unlimited grass hay
  • 1/8 to 1/4 cup per 5 lbs. body weight
  • Vegetables (optional)
  • Treats (optional)

SENIOR RABBITS (ABOVE 6 YEARS)
  • Continue adult diet if your rabbit does not have weight loss problems
  • Increase pellet intake if weight loss occurs
  • Alfalfa hay may be given to underweight rabbits, but only if calcium levels are normal. Blood works may be carried out to determine the level of calcium and other components of the blood

HAY
  • Hay is THE most important part of a rabbit's diet. Hay must always be available to a rabbit, 24/7
  • Hay provided fiber/roughage to help the digestive system to function optimally and prevents blockage of the gut
  • Rabbit's teeth never stop growing. Chewing on hay helps to wear their teeth down to a suitable length
  • Different hay types require different chewing motion. Therefore, if possible, offer your rabbit different varieties of hay for to wear down its teeth evenly.

PELLETS
  • Good pellets must be low in protein: 14% - 16%, high in fiber: min. 20%, fat & calcium contents should be around 1% each
  • Avoid pellets with nuts, seeds, etc. in it, as these have high fat content
  • Amongst the brands available locally at the moment, Oxbow has the best nutritional contents

VEGETABLES & TREATS

If you choose to include vegetables in your rabbit's diet, introduce one different type of vegetable at a time. Start with a small amount and monitor your rabbit's stool. If the stool remains firm and round, you may gradually increase the amount of that vegetable. If your rabbit gets soft stool, stop feeding that vegetable and try a different type after it's stool returns to normal.

Note: Contrary to popular belief, carrots are not supposed to be a big part of a rabbit's diet. Carrots are high in sugar and should only be given as treats.

Fruits are the healthiest treats. Treats should be given in small amounts, not more than 1-2 teaspoons per day. DO NOT feed treats which are high in protein, carbohydrate and fat e.g. cookies, cereals, nuts, breads and grains like crackers or pasta, etc. Chocolate is poisonous to rabbits.

As most rabbits love alfalfa hay, it may be given once in a while as treats for an adult rabbit.

Visit these sites for a list of safe vegetables and fruits for rabbits:
Old 09-16-2008, 11:52 AM

Default Re: Rabbit's Diet 101

thanks for sharing
my rabbits diet is mostly pellets, hay, goodies snack, corn chip (for rabbits one)
, carrots, vegetables.........

only my bit bit diet is a bit funny..he eats almost anything
i eat he eats...i know it is bad but he always come charging on my food - let see biscuit, durian, junk food, mooncake ....you name it - he eats one
Old 09-16-2008, 12:33 PM

they'll eat whatever we let them eat.. and they have a terrible sweet tooth, they love sweet stuff and junk food. We just have to be mean to be kind to them :) its hard to resist their begging faces, but i just keep reminding myself that rabbits are not supposed to have such food, and i'd rather see their pitiful face than see them sick :)
Old 09-16-2008, 06:26 PM

yeah i know it is bad but bit bit will still charge me...i told him no he will still come charging at my food..at times the food fell all over....
by the time i want to sweep - its already inside his stomach...

worst part he is the very greedy kind. The moment i open the fridge - he comes...
the moment i walked away - he chase after me
if he is lying down - the moment i take a packet of something his eyes will be open so big staring at you...

since he is a bit old - he tends to give me that weird sound hur hur haha
indirectly asking me feed me!

i never seen such a greedy rabbit before in my life and he is one sure of a greedy rabbit who loves to eat...... he also eat those not eatable stuff like wood, rubber, plastic as well. I dont know how much he consumes inside his stomach already.

As they grow - you better keep watch - they tend to bite and EAT!
Old 09-16-2008, 07:33 PM

thanks somebunny and vivienlpl for sharing all these infos..
in the future i might want to keep rabbits too and also other furry cute pets..
so need to learn from now on...
thinking of doing my own mini zoo when i have the money to do so..
i also want to educate my future kids on the love for animals...
Old 09-16-2008, 07:53 PM

yes you may start a mini zoo :)

there are lot of people who loves rabbit but then they dont know much about caring..... in the end they just shove it outside.... such a pity..
i still remember last time my neighbour has a lot of rabbits
the rabbits tend to come to my garden because my grass nicer hahhaa

so whenever they come over - i go out and play with them..

but such a pity
the rabbits are kept outside the garden
rain and shine!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

such a pity you know :(

today my bit bit came charging on my dinner box rice
he ate my rice and he ate my rice box!!!

no choice i need to give me the buttock spank
Old 09-16-2008, 08:35 PM

yes you may start a mini zoo :)

there are lot of people who loves rabbit but then they dont know much about caring..... in the end they just shove it outside.... such a pity..
i still remember last time my neighbour has a lot of rabbits
the rabbits tend to come to my garden because my grass nicer hahhaa

so whenever they come over - i go out and play with them..

but such a pity
the rabbits are kept outside the garden
rain and shine!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

such a pity you know :(

today my bit bit came charging on my dinner box rice
he ate my rice and he ate my rice box!!!

no choice i need to give me the buttock spank

yup, wanting to do a mini zoo just for the love of pets and hobbies..
right now i'm caring for cats and understad how to take care of them so after this i'm learning on the care of pets like hamsters and rabbits..
and ofcourse when the right time came for my mini zoo, i'll separate all of the pets, don't want any unnecessary thing to happen..

i know that rabbits or any other pets should be let out outside for the to play and enjoy the outside world but not until needed to left them outside the whole time..
that's mean..

wah, vivienlpl, your bit bit very2 naughty, i guess bit bit want to eat rice for a change....
Old 09-16-2008, 08:54 PM

rabbit get scared easily
easily agitated with the environment
when you first bring them back as a baby - they are very fragile
you need to give them 1 week - no touching, no cuddling, no playing
leave them to roam or place them in a comfortable place....
for my case
i place them in the cage first :)

some owners they dont know - when they come back - they thought they can start playing with it... which is wrong

there are cases - within 1 week you buy - not well trained
the bunny die instantly
not because of the diet or the food
because it gets so scare easily so fragile - everything just fall apart.
That's the thing about rabbit

When i am at home, my rabbits get to roam around
but when i am not around - they need to be cage :)
When i sleep also i need to cage them if not they will drive my parents crazy or my whole house can come down - or worst - i might end up me and my rabbits OUT OF THE HOUSE ! hahaha

so i need to bid rulings :)
my rabbits are not as much freedom as what somebunny's bunnies are having.

got restriction a bit

this is how my darling bit bit stares at me when i just put him back to his cage

Name:	DSCN4942.JPG
Views:	206
Size:	223.6 KB
ID:	849  
Old 09-17-2008, 11:04 AM

LOL! If looks could kill!!
Old 09-17-2008, 02:54 PM

its their nature i think to give us all sort of look...
Old 09-17-2008, 04:50 PM

yup, contrary to popular belief, rabbits are not 'boring' or 'dumb' pets. They are full of character and express their feelings very well.
Old 10-20-2008, 04:38 PM

i recently bought rabbit food for my darlings..

last time i found a shop in uptown nearer to my place
but unfortunately as my rabbits eat the food -they get bored... and take ages to finish up the pellets

so when i bought the new one....much more expensive - burn my pocket hole deeper for the sake of them..i think they love it

yesterday i opened ...so i tested on my bunnies

surprisingly the pellets are much more greener than the normal brown which i always get.

started with bit bit
i take one brown (old pellet) and green pellet (new)
he took the green one - is he smart? i gave him the brown one - put near his mouth - he reluctant to eat it FINE!!!!!
so in the end i put on top of his head... - he drop it together with his poo poo - there goes the pellet

then i tested on rascal - he both also eat.... munch munch..

then lastly i tested on nee nee (the gal)
both also dont want - she continue lying down giving me that stare
Old 10-20-2008, 04:59 PM

Vivien,

I don't know much about rabbits, but if their body language is like a cat's, that pair of flattened ears means they are displeased....hehe, looks like you've offended your bit bit when you put him in the cage.
Old 10-20-2008, 05:16 PM

Vivien,

I don't know much about rabbits, but if their body language is like a cat's, that pair of flattened ears means they are displeased....hehe, looks like you've offended your bit bit when you put him in the cage.
hahahaa my bit bit loves inside his cage
at times i give him all the freedom - he goes back to the cage
when i come home from work - i open the cage for him to roam - he will still be there same spot...lying down

he is a very lazybum

at times i have to carry him out of the cage
weekends freedom to run all over the porch - he choose to go under the chair bench and stay there put for 1 hour....

i place him every morning behind kitchen for him to play
he ends up one spot or flip flop bunny at one corner........

the moment i open the kitchen door - ever ready to go home
that is why i can do a video on him going home .. i no need to call him to go home
he always 99% ready to go home :)
Old 10-20-2008, 07:09 PM

here are the photos

the new and old rabbit food pellets

bit bit happily eating the new food - dont want the old one

gave him the new one straight away want it..

so the old one - i put on his forehead - he dislikes what i just did
so he just shakes his head - there goes the last two pellets down to the tray of together with his poo poo

just now i came home after work
eating one yau chau koi - letting him out of his cage
he came charging after me and bite the bottom.... gone... happily eating it which he is NOT SUPPOSE TO BE EATING!

Name:	Dscn5567.jpg
Views:	189
Size:	60.8 KB
ID:	1491   Click image for larger version

Name:	Dscn5570.jpg
Views:	195
Size:	68.3 KB
ID:	1492   Click image for larger version

Name:	Dscn5568.jpg
Views:	188
Size:	70.0 KB
ID:	1493   Click image for larger version

Name:	Dscn5576.jpg
Views:	186
Size:	57.5 KB
ID:	1494  
Old 10-20-2008, 07:16 PM

Awwwwh....that's so sweet, that your bit bit sees his cage as his home.....your bit bit sounds like a big, fat, lazy bunny, eh? (I mean this in a nice way)

I've never had rabbits before, but one of my hubby's cousin has a white rabbit. It's very big and furry. She bathes it and then powders it with baby talcum powder...!!!

The rabbit doesn't like to be powdered and groomed, and she has to wear a baseball glove when she does that, or she'll be bitten.

I thought that was quite funny becos I've never seen or heard of anyone powdering their pets.

hahahaa my bit bit loves inside his cage
at times i give him all the freedom - he goes back to the cage
when i come home from work - i open the cage for him to roam - he will still be there same spot...lying down

he is a very lazybum

at times i have to carry him out of the cage
weekends freedom to run all over the porch - he choose to go under the chair bench and stay there put for 1 hour....

i place him every morning behind kitchen for him to play
he ends up one spot or flip flop bunny at one corner........

the moment i open the kitchen door - ever ready to go home
that is why i can do a video on him going home .. i no need to call him to go home
he always 99% ready to go home :)
Old 10-21-2008, 03:58 PM

Awwwwh....that's so sweet, that your bit bit sees his cage as his home.....your bit bit sounds like a big, fat, lazy bunny, eh? (I mean this in a nice way)

I've never had rabbits before, but one of my hubby's cousin has a white rabbit. It's very big and furry. She bathes it and then powders it with baby talcum powder...!!!

The rabbit doesn't like to be powdered and groomed, and she has to wear a baseball glove when she does that, or she'll be bitten.

I thought that was quite funny becos I've never seen or heard of anyone powdering their pets.
yes he is a very big fat lazy rabbit
he eats while he sits as well....
bath??? what? rabbit cannot bath one..they get really sensitive
they groom themselves.......

i dont recall rabbit needs powder hahahaa
not enough white meh - powder some more ?
Old 10-22-2008, 05:39 PM

oh, rabbits groom themselves like cats? well, i don't know anything about rabbits, but hubby's cousin gives her rabbit a bath frequently.

ya lor, i also don't know what the powder is for...its fur is already very white... maybe she was treating it like a baby.

yes he is a very big fat lazy rabbit
he eats while he sits as well....
bath??? what? rabbit cannot bath one..they get really sensitive
they groom themselves.......

i dont recall rabbit needs powder hahahaa
not enough white meh - powder some more ?
Old 10-26-2008, 07:03 PM

oh, rabbits groom themselves like cats? well, i don't know anything about rabbits, but hubby's cousin gives her rabbit a bath frequently.

ya lor, i also don't know what the powder is for...its fur is already very white... maybe she was treating it like a baby.
and the rabbit dont show any discomfort? I cannot imagine a rabbit taking a bath haha
Old 11-13-2008, 09:02 PM

Bit Bit is not really happy with his new food
They have been eating like one month......

Nee Nee and Rascal eats like a monster

Bit Bit since two days ago - when i feed him morning
till the time i came home - the full bowl is still FULL!!!!

not to sure what wrong with him. I thought maybe he is sick or probably he is too old - eat lesser - anyway he is already 7 years + going to his 80's soon

So i gave him some hay - see if he is ok - he started munching it
I gave him one of his usual fruity chip - he finished it
So i guess nothing wrong with him but his pellet.

Today no choice i have to go buy another brand of pellets
Came home with one bag....
open - let him smell..then i gave him - want?
he eats it
Then i pour some for him. He munches a few then stop - drop lying one corner
i stared hard at him, he stares back at me with that one kind of look.
I returned him with one kind of look. Then seconds - he went back near his bowl and starts eating again... munching - he looks like as though i force him to eat .... so i pat his forehead....he was really annoyed

I bought new hay for the gang...
i gave nee nee...goodness...she cannot wait....just look at her mouth
so much hay and she wont let it go..........
she started to come out.....roaming........with her mouthful of hay..

noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo my whole dining room fill with hay

Name:	Dscn5818.jpg
Views:	183
Size:	68.8 KB
ID:	1849   Click image for larger version

Name:	Dscn5819.jpg
Views:	184
Size:	67.5 KB
ID:	1850