Go Back   PetFinder.my > Latest News & Happenings > Announcements, Notices and Contests

Announcements, Notices and Contests General announcements, latest developments at PetFinder.my and contests with cool prizes!

Old 08-27-2009, 06:51 PM

Thumbs up Animals Matter To Me Petition

ANIMALS MATTER TO ME PETITION

In Support of the Universal Declaration For Animal Welfare (UDAW)

The World Society for the Protection of Animals (WSPA) is working to end animal cruelty through a global petition calling for a Universal Declaration on Animal Welfare (UDAW)to be adopted by the United Nations. The UDAW is an agreement among people and nations to recognize that animals are sentient and can suffer, to respect their welfare needs and to end animal cruelty - for good.

Did You Know...
Globally, there are some 600 million dogs, and a similar number of cats, of which an estimated 80% are stray or unwanted.

The illegal and often inhumane trade in wildlife and wildlife parts is a soaring black market worth $10 billion a year, exceeded only by arms and drug smuggling. Millions of wild animals are killed, captured or traded inhumanely in this shady business.

An estimated 80% of power input on farms in developing countries is supplied by draught animals, however the resources made available are often woefully inadequate, leading to significant welfare issues.

Around 60 billion farm animals are used each year globally to produce meat, milk and eggs. The majority are raised in industrial farming systems where their welfare needs are not met.

Be A Part of The Movement

For a global problem you need a global solution. Agreement on the importance of an issue affects people's attitudes, and people's attitudes affect their actions.

Please circulate the petition to friends, family, colleagues, school mates or just anyone you think cares about the plight of animals in the world today. Improving animal welfare can also improve the welfare of people relying on these animals. Over a billion people directly rely on animals around the world for their livelihoods.

Help us achieve global recognition that animals matter.

Sign The Petition Now >>

For more information, please proceed to:
http://www.spca.org.my/v51/campaigns...mattertome.php

Old 08-27-2009, 11:00 PM

Default Re: Animals Matter To Me Petition

ANIMALS MATTER TO ME PETITION

In Support of the Universal Declaration For Animal Welfare (UDAW)

The World Society for the Protection of Animals (WSPA) is working to end animal cruelty through a global petition calling for a Universal Declaration on Animal Welfare (UDAW)to be adopted by the United Nations. The UDAW is an agreement among people and nations to recognize that animals are sentient and can suffer, to respect their welfare needs and to end animal cruelty - for good.

Did You Know...
Globally, there are some 600 million dogs, and a similar number of cats, of which an estimated 80% are stray or unwanted.

The illegal and often inhumane trade in wildlife and wildlife parts is a soaring black market worth $10 billion a year, exceeded only by arms and drug smuggling. Millions of wild animals are killed, captured or traded inhumanely in this shady business.

An estimated 80% of power input on farms in developing countries is supplied by draught animals, however the resources made available are often woefully inadequate, leading to significant welfare issues.

Around 60 billion farm animals are used each year globally to produce meat, milk and eggs. The majority are raised in industrial farming systems where their welfare needs are not met.

Be A Part of The Movement

For a global problem you need a global solution. Agreement on the importance of an issue affects people's attitudes, and people's attitudes affect their actions.

Please circulate the petition to friends, family, colleagues, school mates or just anyone you think cares about the plight of animals in the world today. Improving animal welfare can also improve the welfare of people relying on these animals. Over a billion people directly rely on animals around the world for their livelihoods.

Help us achieve global recognition that animals matter.

Sign The Petition Now >>

For more information, please proceed to:
http://www.spca.org.my/v51/campaigns...mattertome.php

Thanks Andy for the awareness... I'll put it as my signature to at least contribute more..
Old 08-28-2009, 01:01 AM

cikunnek is on a distinguished road

i pun dah tandatangan andy.
Old 08-28-2009, 06:50 AM

done andy
godbless the animals ...
Old 08-28-2009, 07:12 AM

Default Animals Matter To Me Petition

Done Andy!!
Old 08-28-2009, 11:43 AM

Signed up already!

Old 08-28-2009, 03:12 PM
Poop Patrol Captain

Bryan is on a distinguished road

Done!

Please after signing the petition DO post at this forum to bolster even further support and please put it on your facebook, friendster , myspace, twitter...
Old 08-28-2009, 03:40 PM

done!... yup, matter to me
Old 08-28-2009, 04:28 PM

Thanks, everyone! Your kind support is very much appreciated!

Let's hope we can get at least 20,000 signatures by the end of this year and help play a role in petitioning UN and member countries to adopt the Universal Declaration on Animal Welfare!

And yes, please share with us here and your friends after you've signed it, so more people can be aware of the movement.

Thank you once again!
Old 08-29-2009, 06:40 AM

Bouquet is on a distinguished road

I have done my part by signing it
Old 08-30-2009, 10:05 PM

good cause !!