Go Back   PetFinder.my > The Animal Corner > Small Mammals - Furry & Cute > Rabbits

Old 05-16-2010, 01:13 AM

anep244 is on a distinguished road
Default Show you Rabbit cage setting

I need ideas on how to setting my cage, especially the bedding coz my bunny not toilet trained yet
Old 05-16-2010, 06:11 PM

Default Re: Show you Rabbit cage setting

those standard cage is not advisable for little bunnies ....those with the hole as their feet will get stuck in between if your bun bun are about 1-2 months.

you can try get those with the flat area and use that wood shaving for hamster but not too much......change like 2-3 days

try not to disturb those that you bring home new bun bun as they are scare easily...leave them for a week to get used to the surrounding and they slowly grow into a monster and tear you down heheehe

welcome to the bunny world~
Old 05-16-2010, 09:44 PM

my cage just like in the pic..
izit ok? every evening i took my bunny to my lawn where he can exercise n run freely..
where shud i put the wood shavings? inside the cage or at the bottom tray?
he already hv his fav pee spot, shud i start to train him?
Old 05-18-2010, 08:28 PM

how to prevent him from get into the hay bowl? sometimes he also pee inside it..
i've tried DIY hay rack..but wen i saw he struggling to eat mkes me throw the rack n back to bowl
Old 05-19-2010, 08:12 PM

this is kind of cage is rather common but you need to get some those plastic where you place it for the toilet with holes for him......if not his feet will get caught that is what i fear..
thought you let him go often in lawn you have to be careful as they are really fragile....

hay bowl you cannot prevent unless you buy those attachable to the cage which i used for my bunny..
you put higher but then again it cannot stop them from jumping up...
mine jumps up all the time...

Name:	Dsc03196.jpg
Views:	153
Size:	75.5 KB
ID:	9331  
Old 05-20-2010, 03:00 AM

this is kind of cage is rather common but you need to get some those plastic where you place it for the toilet with holes for him......if not his feet will get caught that is what i fear..
thought you let him go often in lawn you have to be careful as they are really fragile....

hay bowl you cannot prevent unless you buy those attachable to the cage which i used for my bunny..
you put higher but then again it cannot stop them from jumping up...
mine jumps up all the time...
i took him to the lawn n monitor where he wants to go a look out for cats..
so far he happy n if he get bored he just lay under the shade of the flower trees.. many of his hay are wasted coz he likes to toss it around n he also being picky n only pick the leaves
Old 05-20-2010, 09:02 PM

Originally Posted by anep244 View Post
i took him to the lawn n monitor where he wants to go a look out for cats..
so far he happy n if he get bored he just lay under the shade of the flower trees.. many of his hay are wasted coz he likes to toss it around n he also being picky n only pick the leaves
toss his hay is common he very happy and excited....
Old 05-24-2010, 04:17 PM

@vivien

how old is ur bunny? at what age can introduce to other foods n treats?

mine is like 2months++ n edy eat fruits like apples, bananas n even rambutan.. (my mom gave)

not try giving him veges yet, coz i also dun like veges n fail to identify them :p

kinda worried coz afraid he might getting diarrhea
Old 05-25-2010, 10:26 AM

yiepj is on a distinguished road

vivien

Is it advisable if I'm using 4 feet aquarium to keep a rabbit.
Plan to get a pair of Jersey Wolly and will place this aquarium inside my house.

Thanks.
Old 05-25-2010, 01:07 PM

Originally Posted by yiepj View Post
vivien

Is it advisable if I'm using 4 feet aquarium to keep a rabbit.
Plan to get a pair of Jersey Wolly and will place this aquarium inside my house.

Thanks.
aquarium not advisable coz poor air circulation..
correct me if i'm wrong
Old 05-25-2010, 01:40 PM

what is the best alfalfa hay to be given to kit under 6months?
i gv bengy alfalfa but got lot of hard straw n my bunny doest eat that part
Old 05-25-2010, 01:44 PM

nur azua is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to nur azua

i heard that the alfalfa is always got fungus..so,its not good to give rabbit or gp..but i'm not bout it..a vet told me when i brought ny gp to him..
Old 05-25-2010, 02:22 PM

then wht shud i gv him?
i tot alfalfa n pellets are their main diet..
Old 05-25-2010, 02:48 PM

ur rabbit is 2month++ is it? i think u shud give them unlimited amount of alfalfa hay..since it is their main diet..about the fungus, i think..if u take a good care of the hay..i mean put in proper place..jgn biar terdedah dgn udara..it shud b fine then..for adult, give timothy hay..

i'm not an expert on keeping a rabbit..this is what i read from the internet..sorry if im wrong..but hope this help u
Old 05-25-2010, 04:03 PM

Originally Posted by anep244 View Post
@vivien

how old is ur bunny? at what age can introduce to other foods n treats?

mine is like 2months++ n edy eat fruits like apples, bananas n even rambutan.. (my mom gave)

not try giving him veges yet, coz i also dun like veges n fail to identify them :p

kinda worried coz afraid he might getting diarrhea
anep244,
my bun bun are from all ages
i have 4 bun bun the youngest one is already 5 months
the second one is 1 year +
the other two is already old bunnies about going to be 8 years

my advise is if your bunny is 1mth -1 year
pls do not feed them apples, or snacks or tid bits or whatsoever or even OAT! NO NO not even VEGE OR CARROTS till they are about 5 months then slowly once a week give them treat but small quantity.

i had my bad experience myself but this can be life threatening
they should only be feed rabbit pellet or hay the most - that's their diet for the next few months.......if you continue to give them fruits - you sure to kill them soon or later as their tummy are very fragile one

ALFAFA is not encourable for bunny
go for hay
alfafa and hay are two different type
there are also different type of hay...
get the usual brand like timothy hay and not some other hay..
also dont overfeed them.

yiepj, based on your qs... try not putting rabbit into an aquarium tank
aquarium tank is aquarium tank for fishy...
rabbit are not meant to keep in aquarium tank because if you actually put your head inside an aquarium tank (If you can fit) you will probably see a reflection of yourself. so its the same thing for bunny, the reflection you see back and it is not good for new bunnies coming into new environment
they get scare easily because they think they see another rabbit reflected (which is their own face) and they get scare easily...so traumatised them as bunny are very fragile weak and easily agitated type of animal.

I suggest if your bunny is small, if you could give them proper home you can either build you place with fencing around just for them..if space is a limited, then you can get nowadays you see a lot where half a part is plastic container and the other part is wired type. This is very suitable for new esp few months old bunny...something like this
eg : http://www.zooplus.co.uk/shop/rodent...cm_cages/83034
Old 05-25-2010, 08:05 PM

SHASHA is on a distinguished road

Rabbit Lover...

I have this cool cage for sale. I modify it myself
2ft - RM130
1.6 FT - RM100

SPECIAL MODIFY CAGE FOR GUINEA PIG / RABBIT

- ANIMAL POO/PALLET DONT FALL OUTSIDE OF THE CAGE
- WITH FLOOR MAT FOR COMFORTABLE SLEEP
- WITH FLOOR MAT SO THAT ANIMAL FEET DONT GET STUCK ON THE WIRE
- SIDE LONGKANG FOR ANIMAL WASTE TO DROP IN THE TRAY
- SAVE COST, NO NEED TO BUY SHAVING

DESIGN TESTED FOR 2 YEARS, NO PROBLEM

0169088233 -SHASHA

Name:	cg1.JPG
Views:	172
Size:	29.3 KB
ID:	9368   Click image for larger version

Name:	cg2.JPG
Views:	179
Size:	64.2 KB
ID:	9369  
Old 05-25-2010, 09:36 PM

Originally Posted by SHASHA View Post
Rabbit Lover...

2ft - RM130
1.6 FT - RM100

0169088233 -SHASHA
hi there..
the same cage only cost less than 60 i think..i bought my cage for only 50...then,i modified it just like urs..only cost me 15++..i think people shud go for DYI cage..hehe..just a thought from a heart..
Old 05-26-2010, 11:57 AM

Originally Posted by SHASHA View Post
Rabbit Lover...

2ft - RM130
1.6 FT - RM100

0169088233 -SHASHA
thanks 4 the idea..i will DIY it myself
Old 05-26-2010, 03:16 PM

SHASHA is on a distinguished road

Those are creative can just go ahead. Have fun.
Or u can always get it from me.
Old 05-26-2010, 03:31 PM

i always wash their cages every morning and let them roam all the want...
i always want to make sure they are healthy always ........

its the commitment that you can do...... and making the best for them...