Old 11-24-2008, 02:28 PM
Kucing Garong

Bareen is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Bareen Send a message via Yahoo to Bareen Send a message via Skype™ to Bareen
Default ALERT: Orijen dry cat users.

Cat deaths linked to pet food
Kelly Burke Consumer Affairs Reporter
November 24, 2008

The two Oddy family cats that were paralysed and subsequently euthanised.

UNEXPLAINED chronic illness and death among Sydney cats has been linked to a gourmet imported pet food withdrawn from stores over the past three weeks.
A cat neurologist, Georgina Child, has put down five cats over the past week and treated or consulted with other vets about more than a dozen others suffering from paralysis.
Dr Child, who is based at the University of Sydney's veterinary hospital and the Small Animal Specialist Hospital in North Ryde, said the only factor that linked all the cats was a specialist pet food called Orijen, which is imported through a Canadian company, Champion Petfoods.
"There is a highly suspicious link because this is an uncommon expensive food in this country at the moment, and not sold in supermarkets," Dr Child said. "But all tests that have been done so far haven't given us an answer."
First symptoms included wobbliness or weakness in the animal's hind legs, which could then progress to the front limbs. The condition did not appear to be infectious, Dr Child said, nor typical of a nutritional deficiency.
"Most worrying is that the cats showed no signs [of illness] while on the food," she said. "It seems to be happening weeks or even months later."
The marketing manager of Champion Petfoods, Peter Muhlenfeld, confirmed yesterday the cat deaths had been traced back to Orijen's dry cat food, and the problem appeared to be restricted to Australia.
He said samples sent back by the Australian distributor had a "strange odour". The company is investigating whether irradiation upon entry into Australia was the source of the contamination.
The Oddy family of Dundas has lost two cats in the past week. "They were the children's pets; it's awful," Sarah Oddy said.

from: http://www.smh.com.au/news/national/...375062012.html

Aku pun guna Orijen tapi dah abis minggu lepas. Biasanya aku bagi Orijen campur dengan kibble lain. Guna Orijen selapas Raya, rasanya cuma 3 atau 4 beg jer aku beli. Memandangkan kes Orijen ni berlaku kat Australia, aku jadi kurang yakin ngan Orijen dah.

Info lain pasal kes ni dari pandangan pengguna Orijen dari Australia leh dibaca dari forum nih http://www.thecatsite.com/forums/sho...d.php?t=181493
Old 11-25-2008, 09:54 PM

Default Re: ALERT: Orijen dry cat users.

Thanks for the alert!

Old 11-26-2008, 02:13 AM

They should recall all pet food, world of class pet food also unable recall.

Old 11-26-2008, 08:31 AM

Looks like those so-called holistically prepared food which is cooked at a lower temperature supposedly to preserve nutrients are affected.

Anyway, all of us need to diligently check up on our pet food constantly because actually all brands (including the unbranded ones - yes, there are many!) are affected from time to time, not just one single brand. We must be on constant alert to find out for ourselves in order to protect our kids as well as our own health.

At least the big names get their names published and the customers get to know. Many smaller and unknown brands get away because there are no reports available for the unsuspecting customers.
"We organized in the past to make Trap-Neuter-Return possible. Today, we organize to make Trap-Neuter-Return the norm and to end the unnecessary killing of cats in animal shelters across the country and provide humane care." - Alley Cat Allies
Old 11-26-2008, 02:34 PM

Originally Posted by furkids View Post
at least the big names get their names published and the customers get to know. Many smaller and unknown brands get away because there are no reports available for the unsuspecting customers.
agree!!

Old 11-27-2008, 02:31 PM

Alamak! I've been feeding Kilau Orijen for the past 4 months. Infact just bought new 7.5kg Orijen last week. Bukan murah lak tu. Why Orijen... because of it's high protein content and good review. Before that have been feeding him Innova Evo but stop after negative reviews and court case (internet). Both are high protein content.
What should i do? BTW Kilau is MC (ofcourse no cert...hehe)... Any MC experts here?
Old 11-27-2008, 02:46 PM
Kucing Garong

Bareen is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Bareen Send a message via Yahoo to Bareen Send a message via Skype™ to Bareen

Pakcu tak yah risau sangat. Kes nih berlaku unik di Australia disebabkan radiasi.
Ni email dari Champion Petfood, Canada untuk distributors Orijen.
--------------------------------------------------------------------
Dear ORIJEN distributors,
Please see the attached and updated file on the situation concerning ORIJEN Cat Food in Australia. As test results continue to roll in they continue to strongly support our position of irradiation as the principal cause. Please read through the attached “Questions and Answers” document carefully and write or call with any questions.
I strongly suggest you provide this data to all of your sales staff as well as to your key retail accounts. Here in Canada we have already met with all of our distributors and have either spoken to their sales staff directly or by conference call. We have taken further action by contacting all our key retail accounts here in Canada to advise them of the situation and to assure them markets outside of Australia are not affected. This “proactive” strategy appears to be working well and we have so far been met with a great deal of positive reactions as retailers appreciate us notifying them before they learn about the situation from a customer or competitor.
Although we are removing our foods from Australia the research remains ongoing as we feel it is important to contribute to the growing body of knowledge connecting the irradiation of nutrient dense foods and the health of cats.

Peter A. Muhlenfeld
Champion Petfoods Ltd.
T 780.939.6888

<<Attachment>>

PG 1
ORIJEN CAT FOOD AUSTRALIA
On November 20th, 2008 Champion Petfoods announced a
VOLUNTARY RECALL of ORIJEN brand cat food sold in Australia.
The recall is restricted to
AUSTRALIA ONLY and was issued in response to reports from the Australian veterinary community of 27
cats showing neurological symptoms after consuming ORIJEN.
While there is no definitive link between ORIJEN CAT food and illness in the Australian cats, we have recalled our product from
Australia as a precautionary measure.
The following ‘Questions and Answers’ are intended to explain:

WHY THE PROBLEM IS EXCLUSIVE TO AUSTRALIA
THE ROOT CAUSE OF THE PROBLEM
PREVENTATIVE MEASURES AND AVAILABLE TREATMENT OPTIONS
QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS
Q:
DOES THE RECALL EXTEND BEYOND AUSTRALIA?

A: No, The recall is for
AUSTRALIA ONLY

Q:
HOW DO YOU KNOW THE PROBLEM IS LIMITED TO AUSTRALIA?

A:
WHILE ORIJEN SALES IN AUSTRALIA ACCOUNT FOR LESS THAN ¼ OF 1 PERCENT OF TOTAL SALES, AUSTRALIA
ACCOUNTS FOR 100% OF CASES.

ORIJEN was sold in Australia only for a 9 month period of February through October 2008.
During this time ONLY 6 PALLETS of ORIJEN CAT food actually entered retail distribution in Australia. This equates to
200 Australian cats fed daily over the 9 month period.
Of these 200 cats, 27 are reported having the syndrome of which 4 have been unfortunately euthanized and 4 that are
thankfully recovering.
During the same nine month period, shipments of ORIJEN CAT food equivalent to feed 85,000 cats were made to 49
other countries.
ZERO
cases were reported outside of Australia.
Q:
WHAT IS DIFFERENT ABOUT AUSTRALIA?

A:
IRRADIATION

Champion Petfoods has investigated factors that make Australia unique from our other ORIJEN markets, both export and domestic.
Of the 50 countries to which we supply ORIJEN, Australia is the only country that requires the IRRADIATION TREATMENT
of ORIJEN cat foods.
UPDATED, NOVEMBER 26, 2008
PG 2
Q:
WHAT IS IRRADIATION?

A: Irradiation is a process that passes Cobalt 60 gamma rays through food to reduce microbial hazards, specifically, in this case -
imported pet foods containing fresh meats.
Q:
IS ALL DRY CAT FOOD IN AUSTRALIA IRRADIATED?

A:
NO.

The overwhelming majority of dry cat foods in Australia do not require irradiation. ORIJEN is one of very few that must
comply with this regulation.
Q:
WHY IS ORIJEN IRRADIATED?

A: Australia requires irradiation on foods that include fresh meats or that have been cooked at low temperatures.
Other pet foods that are cooked at high temperatures or are made with chicken meal, turkey meal, fish meal or other
ingredients that are pre-cooked at high temperatures prior to inclusion in pet foods do not have to be irradiated.
Q:
ISN’T IRRADIATION GENERALLY RECOGNIZED AS SAFE?

A:
YES. But Irradiation is typically applied to human foods at doses between 5-10kGY.
ORIJEN in Australia received a minimum level of 50 kGY and records recovered from the Australian irradiation facility
show that ORIJEN was irradiated to levels reaching 61 kGY.
THESE ARE VERY SUBSTANTIAL LEVELS OF IRRADIATION.

Studies indicate that cats fed dry cat food irradiated at levels between 36 and 47kGY develop the same neurological
symptoms as seen in the Australian cats.
Q:
HOW DOES IRRADIATION AFFECT ORIJEN?

A: In recent weeks, Champion Petfoods has conducted extensive testing on ORIJEN Cat sold in Australia. From a combination of
laboratory test results, scientific papers from reputable journals, and consultation from various nutritional experts and veterinarians
around the world, we have discovered 2 primary factors:
1) VITAMIN A DEPLETION IN IRRADIATED FOODS
Our tests show that irradiation of ORIJEN Cat at 50kGY causes a depletion of vitamin A of up to 77%. The irradiation
levels applied to ORIJEN in Australia exceeded this amount.
We tested ORIJEN cat foods at varying levels of irradiation (0 kGY (control), 25kGY and 50kGY). The results show a
direct and linear relationship between the increase in irradiation dosage and vitamin A depletion. In other words, more
vitamins were depleted as the level of irradiation increased.
Literature published by the American College of Veterinary Pathologists (2007) shows that depletion of vitamin A from
irradiated cat food is associated with the same symptoms in cats as are reported in Australia (CASSIDY ET. AL, 2007).
An excerpt from the American College of Veterinary Pathologists’ study supports this finding:
“Both SPF (specific pathogen free) and conventional status cats had been fed to appetite on the same commercial formula ration
(Gilbertson and Page Ltd., Welwyn Garden City, UK),
except that the ration fed to the SPF cats had been irradiated by a
single-exposure gamma-radiation treatment between 36.3 and 47.3 kGy (Cobalt 60 irradiator; Isotron Ireland, Tullamore,
Ireland).
The irradiated diet was consumed to the same extent as the non-irradiated diet, and affected animals did not lose weight
until the developing ataxia hindered their access to food…
Following supplementation of the irradiated diet with pasteurized
proprietary tinned cat food in the winter of 2001 and, ultimately, the replacement of the irradiated diet with an equivalent
pasteurized diet, no further cases occurred”.

continues on pg. 3
PG 3
The report describes an investigation of 8 cases where the disease is associated with the long-term feeding of cats on a
gamma-irradiated dry food diet. This study is available on the internet from the link below:
2) THE FORMATION AND RELEASE OF FREE RADICALS IN IRRADIATED FOODS
A second major impact of irradiation is the formation and release of free radicals.
Irradiation does not affect all foods equally. ORIJEN is a nutritionally dense food with much higher levels of long-chain
fatty acids (DHA, EPA) than conventional pet foods. These fatty acids are susceptible to oxidation following irradiation.
Bi-products from fatty acid oxidation, mainly free radicals, are released into the body with the potential to cause tissue
damage.
Combined with the loss of antioxidant vitamins (see Vitamin A described above), free radicals are thought to be a major
contributing factor.
When irradiation is applied to food, the molecular structure of long chain fatty acids (DHA, EPA) is altered. This causes
the formation of free radicals that are then released into the body.
ORIJEN CAT foods contain very high levels of EPA and DHA unsaturated fatty acids and therefore have a much greater
potential for free radical formation (in response to irradiation) than do conventional dry cat foods.
Scientific evidence shows that increased oxidative bi-products combined with decreased presence of antioxidant
vitamins (see above) are consistent with the symptoms shown in Australian cats. The fact that cats in Australia treated
with vitamin and antioxidant supplementation have shown improvements supports this finding.
An excerpt from the American College of Veterinary Pathologists’ study supports this position:
“Irradiation is known to reduce the vitamin content of food, the effect of which may be indirect, in that inadequate amounts of these
compounds may be available to counteract the effects of free radicals generated by normal cell metabolism. A previous study found
that irradiation of a feline diet containing 9.8% fat with a 2- to 5-Mrad dose totally destroyed its vitamin A and
β-carotene content,
whereas thiamine, vitamin B6 (pyridoxine), and folic acid were depleted to a lesser extent, and vitamin E concentrations appeared
to be unaffected by this dose of radiation.
The relatively high dietary fat requirement of cats may be significant in this context
in that irradiation of this fat component could potentially generate higher concentrations of micronutrient-damaging free
radicals than would be generated on irradiating diets of lower fat content.”

Q:
WHAT SHOULD I DO IF I LIVE IN AUSTRALIA AND FEED ORIJEN CAT?

A: Please return any unused portion of ORIJEN Cat food to the place of purchase for a full refund. If you think that you see any
symptoms of this syndrome in your cat please contact your veterinary immediately. There is evidence that health can improve with
vitamin and antioxidant supplementation.
SIGNS
Changes in your cat’s way of walking – the gait may be wobbly, or your cat’s legs may slip under when going around
a corner
Unwilling to jump onto sofa or bed
Loss of balance and falling off of bench-tops, tables etc
PREVENTATIVE MEASURES
Fresh food carnivorous diet consisting of fresh meat, occasional fish, occasional vegetables
Premium dry food if unable to feed the above
continues from pg. 2
continues on pg. 4
Anti-oxidants – Cysteine/Glutathione to protect liver and kidneys – for 6-8 weeks
Omega fatty acids ie. Fish Oil to act as anti-inflammatory and anti-oxidant
Vitamin A – oral form for 3 week period – weight of the animal and specific dose is important, please consult with your
vet or with Champion Petfoods for specific dosages.
Regular exercise and play
Access to fresh spring water or reverse osmosis (RO) water
TREATMENT OPTIONS
Anti-oxidants, Omega fatty acid, Vitamins
Prednisone, Metacam or Antibiotics if needed on veterinarian’s advice
Exercise, movement and physical therapy are crucial for recovery
Q:
ARE ORIJEN DOG FOODS IN AUSTRALIA ALSO IRRADIATED?

A:
YES. All ORIJEN diets sold in Australia and subjected to the same irradiation process.
Q:
ARE ORIJEN DOG FOODS SAFE?

A: Champion Petfoods has examined the issue of safety in dogs very closely.
ORIJEN dog diets have been sold and consumed in Australia over the same 9 months that ORIJEN Cat has been sold,
only in much greater quantities.
NO DOGS HAVE BEEN AFFECTED.
Dogs and cats are two different species with different nutritional needs and
metabolic pathways. For example, cats require higher levels of vitamins than dogs (AAFCO 2008), and cats are highly
sensitive to changes in vitamins or oxidative by-products (such as occur from irradiation).
There are no reports or scientific studies linking irradiation to health problems in dogs.
Q:
WILL CHAMPION CONTINUE TO SELL ORIJEN PRODUCTS IN AUSTRALIA?

A:
NO.

Veterinarians in Australia have recently reported households where both dogs and cats are present and cases where cats prefer
ORIJEN dog food over the brand of cat food they receive.
Of the 27 cases of illness, at least 2 cases involve cats eating ORIJEN dog food.
As we are unable to control for cats consuming ORIJEN dog food, there is a small but measurable risk of cross-feeding
in dual pet (dogs and cats) households.
Implemented as a precautionary measure to prevent cross contamination, Champion Petfoods has elected to stop
selling ORIJEN dog foods in Australia.
EVERY ORIJEN PRODUCT IS RIGOROUSLY TESTED BEFORE LEAVING OUR FACTORY. WITH THE EXCEPTION OF ORIJEN CAT
FOODS IN AUSTRALIA ALL ORIJEN PRODUCTS SHOULD BE USED IN CONFIDENCE.
PG 4
continues from pg. 3
Champion Petfoods Ltd. is a family-owned award-winning pet food producer. For over 25 years, our mission
is to promote the health of dogs and cats worldwide – a mandate in which we are passionately engaged.
Every member of our family and the vast majority of our staff share their homes with beloved dogs and cats. These relationships
enrich our lives and empower our spirits. At Champion, making pet food is much more than a business operation - it is our
calling, our true passion.
It is with our own pets in mind that we extend our deepest empathy to the Australian families affected by this regrettable
circumstance. While we will no longer sell any of our pet foods in Australia we remain committed to on-going research into this
case with the hope that our findings can be used to better inform the international community on the potential effects of
irradiation on nutrient dense dry cat food.
Sincerely,
References
1. Cassidy JP, Caulfield C, Jones BR, Worrall S, Conlon L, Palmer AC, Kelly J. Leukoencephalomyelopathy in Specific Pathogen-free Cats. Vet
Pathology. 44: 912-916. 2007
2. Lushchak VI. Free Radical Oxidation of Proteins and Its Relationship with Functional State of Organisms. Biochemistry (Moscow), Vol. 72, No. 8:
809-827. 2007
3. Lee KH, Yook HS, Lee JW, Park WJ, Kim KS, Byun MW. Quenching Mechanism and Kinetics of Ascorbyl Palmitate for the Reduction of the Gamma
Irradiation-Induced Oxidation of Oils. JAOCS, Vol. 76, No.8:921-925. 1999.
4. Mahrour A, Caillet S, Nketsia-Tabiri J, Lacroix M. The Antioxidant Effect of Natural Substances on Lipids During Irradiation of Chicken Legs.
JAOCS, Vol. 80, no. 7: 679-684. 2003.
5. Fujioka K, Shibamoto T. Formation of Genotoxic Dicarbonyl Compounds in Dietary Oils upon Oxidation. Lipids, Vol. 39, no. 5: 481-486. 2004.
6. Leeson S, Marcotte M. Irradiation of poultry feed II. Effect on nutrient composition. World’s Poultry Science Journal, 49: 120-131. 1993.
7. Health Canada Government Website. Alteration of Chemical, Physical and Microbiological Characteristics. Section (d): i. Odour. Updated: 2003.
9503-90 Avenue,
Morinville, Alberta
CANADA
T8R 1K7
phone. 780 939.6888
email. customerservice@championpetfoods.com
www.championpetfoods.com
PG 5
Reinhard Muhlenfeld
President & Founder
Champion Petfoods Ltd.
Peter Muhlenfeld
Sales and Marketing
Manager
Champion Petfoods Ltd.
Henry Van de Vliert
Production Manager
Champion Petfoods Ltd.
Jeff Johnston
Procurement and
Nutrition Coordinator
Champion Petfoods Ltd.
Gordon Demaniuk
Quality Assurance
Manager
Champion Petfoods Ltd.
Old 11-27-2008, 03:02 PM

Fuuhh lega.., thanks so much Bareen.
Old 11-27-2008, 03:04 PM

Alamak! I've been feeding Kilau Orijen for the past 4 months. Infact just bought new 7.5kg Orijen last week. Bukan murah lak tu. Why Orijen... because of it's high protein content and good review. Before that have been feeding him Innova Evo but stop after negative reviews and court case (internet). Both are high protein content.
What should i do? BTW Kilau is MC (ofcourse no cert...hehe)... Any MC experts here?
I memang tak pakai Orijen, tapi setahu kami, goods yang affected tu batch masuk Australia aje kan? Malaysia punyer datang terus dari Canada dan tak lalu Australia, kan? Why don't you check with Mr. Gan, the importer. He should be able to smoothen your ruffled furs, Pakcu (or make some more ruffled ... )

Let us know ...
"We organized in the past to make Trap-Neuter-Return possible. Today, we organize to make Trap-Neuter-Return the norm and to end the unnecessary killing of cats in animal shelters across the country and provide humane care." - Alley Cat Allies
Old 11-27-2008, 07:40 PM

I've just spoke with Mr Gan. I've been monitoring this on and off since i read it this morning.

He explained what happened, and refered me to the press release at ChampionPetFoods website, which is the same as posted here by Bareen. Explanation similar but he caution that as with all uncertainty, if we feel uncertain about feeding orijen pending full investigation and release of more information, we can opt to temporary stop feeding it. so far i have not noticed anything "odd" with my cat. I've been alternating Orijen with Natural Balance and since i buy the 7.5kg bag, it'd take me about 2 months to go through 1 bag. i only revert back to orijen jsut last sunday but only managed to buy a 2.5kg bag (as it has expiry date in aug 09 and i'm looking for expiry date more than 1 year). decided to wait for new shipment coming in end of the month.

for myself, i'm inclined to adopt a wait and see approach for the final results of all the investigations. but of course i'll stop feeding them on Orijen in the meantime and will rever to NB for the time being. i've trawled the net and the australian forums are all abuzz with it. there are some forumers joining in from Europe and North America and they all said they have no issues with Orijen all this while, only australia has issue with it even thought the selling only started recently within late last year. some said it could be due to "over-rumours" by competitors and rivals or maybe due to tampering or "sabotage" but all just personal opinions.

i too thank bareen for raising alert in the first place as well as posting clarification on this.

Mr Gan assured me that only the australian shipment is affected, that malaysian shipment is not affected as we get it directly from canada. I'm quite "comforted" by the approach taken by ChampionPetFoods in handling this matter - their proactive and upfront transparent manner in informing consumers.

But for now i'll adopt and wait attitude and will feed my furkids NB. shucks. Lil sebastien is doing well on it. it's the only dry kibble that he can eat properly - just the right texture.

Mr Gan has also so kindly provide a useful tip - he said through his own experience, our malaysian high humidity and hot weather does play havoc with the orijen cat food once it is open, he advises me to buy food-grade dehumidifier packet to store together with orijen cat food bag once i open it but the whole bag to be stored in a container and container just place in normal area where it is not under direct sunlight or hot area.

right now, i transfer everything to individual cookie jar and store them in refrigerator and the used portion in the freezer - quite a lot of work and my cats eat "frozen" kibble - not the long term solution hence i find Mr Gan's tip very useful.
Old 11-27-2008, 10:37 PM

Pakcu, boleh tak nak tau, the negative reviews n court case on Innova Evo ni? searched for it, tp xjmpe.

Kat mn ada jual Orijen ye kt area KL ni? I actually wanted to try Orijen for my cats, couldn't find any, instead found Innova which seem to be as good.
Old 11-27-2008, 10:45 PM

Originally Posted by Nana View Post
Pakcu, boleh tak nak tau, the negative reviews n court case on Innova Evo ni? searched for it, tp xjmpe.

Kat mn ada jual Orijen ye kt area KL ni? I actually wanted to try Orijen for my cats, couldn't find any, instead found Innova which seem to be as good.
The Innova Evo court case still pending. They're been accused of using unnatural and unethical substances for dry kibbles. Itu yg rasa cuak gak nak guna. In the market, Pakcu rasa Innova Evo tu contain the highest protein contents and among the most expensive...hmm Ada lg balance 3 kilo kat rumah.
Orijen bole dapat kat PJ rasanya.. Champion Pet Supplies. Tak sure lak the exact address. Probably leh tanya Ashley. Nana stay mana? Kat Kota Kemuning pun ada. Pakcu beli dari situ.
Old 11-28-2008, 10:11 AM

I've just spoke with Mr Gan. I've been monitoring this on and off since i read it this morning.

... so far i have not noticed anything "odd" with my cat. I've been alternating Orijen with Natural Balance and since i buy the 7.5kg bag, it'd take me about 2 months to go through 1 bag. i only revert back to orijen jsut last sunday.
Kan the report said that the symptoms were not observed until some time after and not during the time they were fed Orijen ... it took some time after being fed Orijen for the damage on the cats to be seen.
Old 11-28-2008, 10:13 AM

Pakcu kalau nak increase good protein content for your si manja senang aje ... supplement kibbles biasa dengan daging dada ayam kukus/rebus kosong tanpa garam, gula, msg, rempah.

Murah and good quality protein pulak tu, satu keping dada ayam besar RM5-6 ajer kat pasar.

Saya tak ada masalah dengan Orijen atau Acana sebab si manja saya tak nak makan langsung!
Old 11-28-2008, 02:22 PM

Pakcu kalau nak increase good protein content for your si manja senang aje ... supplement kibbles biasa dengan daging dada ayam kukus/rebus kosong tanpa garam, gula, msg, rempah.
Murah and good quality protein pulak tu, satu keping dada ayam besar RM5-6 ajer kat pasar.
Saya tak ada masalah dengan Orijen atau Acana sebab si manja saya tak nak makan langsung!
Thanks FK. Actually Pakcu dah cuba dulu, tapi dorg tak nak makan sgt. I dont know, wether cara Pakcu prepare salah ker or dorg ni memang jenis tak mkn tu. So, kalau bole FK leh explain in details tak what's the right approach, mcm rebus berapa lama, air dia byk mana, dada yg macamana... Thanks FK.
Old 11-28-2008, 02:58 PM

Thanks FK. Actually Pakcu dah cuba dulu, tapi dorg tak nak makan sgt. I dont know, wether cara Pakcu prepare salah ker or dorg ni memang jenis tak mkn tu. So, kalau bole FK leh explain in details tak what's the right approach, mcm rebus berapa lama, air dia byk mana, dada yg macamana... Thanks FK.
Yalah FK, last time I gave steamed chicken Bulan happily ate, but Bintang so-so la...Now since I introduced Innova, both don't wanna eat chicken oredy... after reading here and there, I can't help but think despite of the quality cat food, it's always better to give the natural ones as often as possible, such as the steam chicken la...*sigh* my journey for searching the best food for them is still ongoing..I'm going a bit more particular, upon realizing that as baby kitties, they most probably didn't get enough nutrition..

any other alternative to chicken?
Old 11-28-2008, 03:05 PM

Originally Posted by Nana View Post
Yalah FK, last time I gave steamed chicken Bulan happily ate, but Bintang so-so la...Now since I introduced Innova, both don't wanna eat chicken oredy... after reading here and there, I can't help but think despite of the quality cat food, it's always better to give the natural ones as often as possible, such as the steam chicken la...*sigh* my journey for searching the best food for them is still ongoing..I'm going a bit more particular, upon realizing that as baby kitties, they most probably didn't get enough nutrition..

any other alternative to chicken?
Kalau good quality fresh chicken meat, definitely mereka makan wan. Takut the chicken you bought is not fresh or loaded with chemicals and preservative, tawar, mesti tak mahu makan. My Furkids turn up their nose at canned cat food, most of them, and suka my wet market fresh steamed ones.

Saya lagi particular, saya bagi fresh ayam kampung or corn/gandum/malt-fed farm chicken that I eat myself. Like myself, mereka pun tak suka those cheap putih-putih tawar looking chicken yang berlambak kat pasar.

I have never seen any cat (even very sick and after operation ones yg betul-betul tak ada selera) turn down my chicken preparation. So you guys need to scrutinise the chicken meat that you purchase. Must be good quality and fresh the way all the housewives in small towns are particular about. They will come back the next morning and baling balik and scold the seller kalau tak elok!

Last edited by FurKids; 11-28-2008 at 03:11 PM.
Old 11-28-2008, 03:11 PM

Kalau good quality fresh chicken meat, definitely mereka makan wan. Takut the chicken you bought is not fresh or loaded with chemicals and preservative, tawar, mesti tak mahu makan. My Furkids turn up their nose at canned cat food, most of them, and suka my wet market fresh steamed ones.

Saya lagi particular, saya bagi fresh ayam kampung or corn/gandum/malt-fed farm chicken that I eat myself. Like myself, mereka pun tak suka those cheap putih-putih tawar looking chicken yang berlambak kat pasar.

I have never seen any cat (even very sick and after operation ones yg betul-betul tak ada selera) turn down my chicken preparation. So you guys need to scrutinise the chicken meat that you purchase. Must be good quality and fresh the way all the housewives in small towns are particular about. They will come back the next morning and scold the seller kalau tak elok!
FK, u tak jwb lg macamana nak prepare ayam tu... please..
Old 11-28-2008, 03:23 PM

FK, u tak jwb lg macamana nak prepare ayam tu... please..
Sorry, Pakcu, saya bangun ambik Ideal evaporated milk for my cup of Lipton tea ... hehehehhhh!!! Waaaahhhhh, sodappppp!!!

OK, sambung ... Pakcu steam sekejap aje ... you know like when you order steak tu the waiter tanya how you like yours done? Pakcu tahu how the state of the meat when you order "Rare" tak? It is cooked but juicy with pink color meat juice oozing out when you cut it? Macam tu la ... I cannot tell you how long you steam or boil using a little water because it depends on how big your ketol daging is and also how high a flame you are using on the stove. I do not want you to overcook your chicken sebab nanti tawar dan keras pun mereka kurang suka.

So, using the "Rare" piece of steak description, I hope you get the idea.
Old 11-28-2008, 03:35 PM

sarahseben is on a distinguished road

nak menyelit tanyer soalan..

the chicken broth u dice it ke or lepas stim you blend it ? or potong2 sampai jadi mcm mince meat?

another question, if makan homemade food ni, their poo smelly tak? or better than feeding them with kibbles? soalan penting ni sbenarnya, untuk mengekalkan keharmonian dalam rumah

Sorry, Pakcu, saya bangun ambik Ideal evaporated milk for my cup of Lipton tea ... hehehehhhh!!! Waaaahhhhh, sodappppp!!!

OK, sambung ... Pakcu steam sekejap aje ... you know like when you order steak tu the waiter tanya how you like yours done? Pakcu tahu how the state of the meat when you order "Rare" tak? It is cooked but juicy with pink color meat juice oozing out when you cut it? Macam tu la ... I cannot tell you how long you steam or boil using a little water because it depends on how big your ketol daging is and also how high a flame you are using on the stove. I do not want you to overcook your chicken sebab nanti tawar dan keras pun mereka kurang suka.

So, using the "Rare" piece of steak description, I hope you get the idea.