Old 08-22-2008, 09:08 AM

Default Domestic Cats and Their Colours and Patterns - Part Two

* Tri-color Cats
Tri-color cats include:
o Calico
Separate solid blocks of color, which must include red (orange), black, and white. They also may have blocks of tabby pattern, which produces an extremely colorful and beautiful cat. Dilute calicos, have the same separate blocks of color, only the colors are "diluted," i.e. "faded" shades of the original, which gives them an ethereal appearance. A dilute calico will have pale orange or buff for the red, and gray (or "blue") for the black.

A beautiful example of a calico girl is Sweet Pea, an About Cats forum cat.

o Tortoiseshell AKA "Tortie"
Instead of solid blocks, torties' coats weave the three colors throughout, creating a tapestry of color. A forum member described torties beautifully, "they are cloaked in the lovely colors of Fall." Tortoiseshell cats may also be dilute, with softer versions of the colors. Like the tabby, torties may also have white accent markings, creating a "tortie with white." They also sometimes have an interesting mix of tortoiseshell, with a bonus of tabby patterning mixed throughout. These cats are referred to as torbies. It should be noted that white plays a very small role in the tortoiseshell pattern - most of the color weaving is done with the red and black components. Here is a lovely example of a tortoiseshell girl, Coco, who co-rules the household of HOSTPat.

Because of the associated genetic factors that creates their color patterns, tri-color cats almost always are females, although occasional males crop up (about one in 3,000, according to this excellent article by Barbara French) Those rare males are almost always sterile, also for reasons of genetics, so don't expect to gain a fortune by selling your male calico cat.

* Tuxedo
Tuxedo cats were so named for their glossy black coats, enhanced with white bibs and "spats," less esoterically described as white feet. Columbus is a nice example of a tuxedo cat; he is also one of our forum kitties.

* Bi-Color
Bi-colored cats may include tuxedos, as well as other configurations on one color plus white. A black and white cat might be better described as bi-color if the colors are present in large blocks on the cat's body rather than the "bib and boots" pattern. Other bi-colors might include gray and white, brown and white, or red and white.

* Points or Pointed Markings
"Points," or darker shades of the body color, generally include the ears, muzzle, tail, and feet of the cat. The original pointed cat was the Siamese, and many years later, the Himalayan was developed by crossing Siamese with Persian cats. Many other breeds of pointed cats are now accepted by cat registries, including Ragdoll, Ragamuffin, Birman, Exotic, Balinese, and Javanese. Breed registries disallow pointed patterns in most other breeds. Many mixed breed cats display these distinctive points, which may be found in various colors.

Note : Excerpt from Fanny Syufy Article in http://cats.about.com. For more information and full article please visit this site.
Old 08-22-2008, 09:18 AM

Default Re: Domestic Cats and Their Colours and Patterns - Part Two

thanks ashley... very good info... my chemong in dsh bi-color la ye?.. hehehehe... toceii toceii~!
Old 08-22-2008, 09:30 AM

example bi-color dsh.... chemong~
Old 08-22-2008, 10:04 AM

hi ashley guru..can tell me whats his color...silver base?..always called him kelabu asap...

Old 08-22-2008, 10:30 AM
BAD Company...

fantasticat is on a distinguished road

hi ashley guru..can tell me whats his color...silver base?..always called him kelabu asap...

kalau ikutkan rabbit punya colour code... considering this is the true colour... it's called chestnut kalau tak silap aku la...
Old 08-22-2008, 10:33 AM
LeenMaF|a

Lyn_Cat is on a distinguished road

kalo Lulu i nih.. ape beza dgn Turkish Van..?

Turkish Van

Old 08-22-2008, 10:37 AM

Originally Posted by fantasticat View Post
kalau ikutkan rabbit punya colour code... considering this is the true colour... it's called chestnut kalau tak silap aku la...

owh kalau under rabbit code...jatuh under chestnut...setau mak chestnut tuh warna ala2 brownish jek...ok tq bro...
Old 08-22-2008, 10:44 AM

illa79 is on a distinguished road

thanks ashley for sharing the information...great post
Old 08-22-2008, 11:00 AM

Originally Posted by Lyn_Cat View Post
kalo Lulu i nih.. ape beza dgn Turkish Van..?

Turkish Van

mcm takde beza pun lyn... mcm sama je...hurmm lulu ni ada cert ke? kalau takde meh sini cheq chop mohor taruk kategori turkish van.. **la ni pun baru tau ada breed nih.. btw... smart tgk byk peta jauh-jauh atas lulu ni.. chihihi..
Old 08-22-2008, 11:30 AM
LeenMaF|a

Originally Posted by chemonk View Post
mcm takde beza pun lyn... mcm sama je...hurmm lulu ni ada cert ke? kalau takde meh sini cheq chop mohor taruk kategori turkish van.. **la ni pun baru tau ada breed nih.. btw... smart tgk byk peta jauh-jauh atas lulu ni.. chihihi..
Cert ade.. tp cert as domestic Cat.. hehehehehh . takdelah..juz nak tau lulu tu ade termasuk kategori tukish van ke..? kalo sama..meaning lulu tu turkish van un-cert...kakakakkaka
Old 08-22-2008, 02:07 PM

nuin83 is on a distinguished road

yg ni plak ape ke jenisnye?
bi color?
sbb ade putih2 skik..

Name:	Picture 0034.jpg
Views:	126
Size:	56.1 KB
ID:	396   Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 0027.jpg
Views:	136
Size:	53.8 KB
ID:	397  
Old 08-22-2008, 02:33 PM
LeenMaF|a

Originally Posted by nuin83 View Post
yg ni plak ape ke jenisnye?
bi color?
sbb ade putih2 skik..
nampak mcm blue..kecik la..x nampak
Old 08-22-2008, 03:47 PM

Hi all

apa pulak dgn gelaran "guru" ni? siapa pulak yg letak kat sini? malu nye...

but i'm glad everyone had a fun time with the articles.

it was only meant as trivia information but you know what?

most of our cats are called "local" or "domestic" sebab kita tak pasti atau tak tahu what is the actual "lineage" or cannot trace with certainty what is the lineage..hence dapat gelaran "local", "stray", "kucing kampung" atau paling correct "domestic".

but please bear in mind all your cats have an advantage - nature's selection of the fittest from the genetic point of view. and most of our cats have some pedigree genes in them, witness all your cats. hatemetoday (susah-nya nak type your name i thought i made typo error) punye kuching has siamese genes - look at the face..sebiji macam siamese tapi ada tabby punya genes - look at the tail..

lyn-cat's kucing sebiji macam turkish van kan?

chemonk's cat is beautiful red-head - bicolour tapi ada tabby stripe - warna-nya bukan main cantik - truly beautiful..

nuin83 - i can't remember what's the name of the pedigree but your cat also sebiji nampak macam pedigree...

but in the end, regardless of what colour, what pattern, our furkid is beloved fur kid, right?

let's drink to that (halal punye sparkling grape juice...)
the other cat

i'm glad everybody have fun with this article but i can't take the credit cos it was compiled by a great lady called fanny syufy who was generous enough to share this at her website. do visit her website when you have time, lots of info kat situ.

:-)
Old 08-22-2008, 04:05 PM

huhu... sometimes its very hard to spot the pattern.. like mine... never see the tabby stripes.. i just see 2 color only.. hihihi... btw.. it's not red lah.. it's same like burmese color (or it's really red?.. gosh! aku buta warna kah?) sebab yg kelabu org lain nampak biru... kalau perang.. org lain ckp merah... iskkk iskkk.. yeah love the furkids... and if it's strays that we rescued from street.. sometimes teringat2 zaman tatkala menyelamatkan/kutip chemong dulu.. well.. rasa bangga pun ada sebab we know.. we did the right/generous thing... tetiba rasa berbunga2 je.. lapang sebab buat bende baik.. hehehehe gives creadit to ourselves for being a kindest person... **hahaha.. masuk lif tekan sendiri dah ni~~
Old 08-22-2008, 04:20 PM

comyncats is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by chemonk View Post
example bi-color dsh.... chemong~
And quite possibly, an example of 2 patterns - bicolour and mink.
Old 08-22-2008, 04:22 PM

[B] * Points or Pointed Markings
"Points," or darker shades of the body color, generally include the ears, muzzle, tail, and feet of the cat. The original pointed cat was the Siamese, and many years later, the Himalayan was developed by crossing Siamese with Persian cats. Many other breeds of pointed cats are now accepted by cat registries, including Ragdoll, Ragamuffin, Birman, Exotic, Balinese, and Javanese. Breed registries disallow pointed patterns in most other breeds. Many mixed breed cats display these distinctive points, which may be found in various colors.

Note : Excerpt from Fanny Syufy Article in http://cats.about.com. For more information and full article please visit this site.
How about Van pattern and mink (the latter I guess would be a sub-group of pointed)
Old 08-22-2008, 04:23 PM

Black smoke
Old 08-22-2008, 05:13 PM

Originally Posted by comyncats View Post
Black smoke
tq Comyncat..black smoke in malay language is Black = Hitam; Smoke = Asap....Asap Hitam...

not forgetting...tq Ashley..
Old 08-22-2008, 10:39 PM

aiya, jgn panggil "guru", shy lah...

actually your cat has a very special colour...but if you were to ask me to name your cat, it would be "midnight pearl". drama sikit :-)

tak payah thank me - it's actually fanny syufy's punye article.. :-)
Old 08-23-2008, 11:01 AM

aiya, jgn panggil "guru", shy lah...

actually your cat has a very special colour...but if you were to ask me to name your cat, it would be "midnight pearl". drama sikit :-)

tak payah thank me - it's actually fanny syufy's punye article.. :-)
a

omg..nice name there auntie Ash..indeed hes such a drama king.....tq Ash..i'll stick to Asap as hes just an ordinary kampung boy...