Old 04-29-2009, 01:35 PM

Default Feeding strays/feral cats - FeralStat

I would like to share with those who feeds stray and feral cats in their area to a product known as FeralStat, a feline oral contraceptive that is developed in the US. This is to complement any TNR (Trap, Neuter, Release) done on an individual basis by people like June, Alicia .... and many more, sorry, I am never good at names.

I feel honored (suprised too) to be contacted by Dr. Caltabiano upon my little email to him of how to purchase FeralStat (for strays that I am feeding in my area, trust me, I can't really catch them all for neutering!) and he is very supportive of my little quest! He is interested to hear from other strays/feral caretakers in Malaysia to discuss of what can be done to improve the lives of our furry friends!

To learn more about FeralStat, kindly visit http://www.feralstat.com/

I will be receiving FeralStat soon, hopefully Custom don't go poking around the package. If anyone is interest, please drop me a PM of your contact details and I'll forward it to Dr. Caltabiano.

Thanks all for reading!

Old 04-29-2009, 01:39 PM

oh!! wow!! This is great.I'll chk out the web shortly.

I would like to share with those who feeds stray and feral cats in their area to a product known as FeralStat, a feline oral contraceptive that is developed in the US. This is to complement any TNR (Trap, Neuter, Release) done on an individual basis by people like June, Alicia .... and many more, sorry, I am never good at names.

I feel honored (suprised too) to be contacted by Dr. Caltabiano upon my little email to him of how to purchase FeralStat (for strays that I am feeding in my area, trust me, I can't really catch them all for neutering!) and he is very supportive of my little quest! He is interested to hear from other strays/feral caretakers in Malaysia to discuss of what can be done to improve the lives of our furry friends!

To learn more about FeralStat, kindly visit http://www.feralstat.com/

I will be receiving FeralStat soon, hopefully Custom don't go poking around the package. If anyone is interest, please drop me a PM of your contact details and I'll forward it to Dr. Caltabiano.

Thanks all for reading!
Old 04-29-2009, 02:09 PM

Default Re: Feeding strays/feral cats - FeralStat

You can get it locally tapi saya tak pakai ... saya prefer tangkap dan neuter.

June, I think you will like www.alleycat.org and what they do ... I like the article "Who Speaks For The Animals?" published by the Animal Law Committee of the American Bar Association in its Spring 2007 Newsletter ... very, very good!
"We organized in the past to make Trap-Neuter-Return possible. Today, we organize to make Trap-Neuter-Return the norm and to end the unnecessary killing of cats in animal shelters across the country and provide humane care." - Alley Cat Allies
Old 04-29-2009, 02:24 PM

FK, where can you get FeralStat locally? I don't think it is available here? or are you speaking of a compound of same mixture? Then it ain't the same.
Still, where can you get such compound? An address will be much appreciated.

Out of sharing links, here's another to share ...
http://www.everyanimalmatters.org/
Dr. Caltabiano founded this non-profit center and FeralStat is not all about business profits.

Old 04-29-2009, 02:25 PM

Default Best Friends Feral Cat Program - Latest Sterilization Drug Claims Are Cause for Alarm

This is a report from Best Friends Feral Cat Program
http://network.bestfriends.org/feral...ews/27553.html

Latest Sterilization Drug Claims Are Cause for Alarm
July 26, 2008 : 4:53 PM
Alliance for Contraception in Cats and Dogs weighs in on FeralStat™

July 24, 2008

Statement on FeralStat™

ACC&D is eager to support and advance safe and effective means of controlling feral cat populations. We are always looking for new contraceptive approaches that have promise for meeting animal welfare objectives.

When we heard recently about a new product called FeralStat being prescribed for feral cat contraception, we immediately began gathering information for review by our scientific advisors. We’ll share a comprehensive position in the next couple of weeks. Until then, we offer this preliminary statement:

FeralStat sounds like a dream come true. Remember the old saying, if something looks too good to be true, it probably is (not true)? Unfortunately, based on our initial review, ACC&D has concerns about both the safety and efficacy of FeralStat.

The active ingredient in FeralStat is megestrol acetate. This is the same active ingredient which was in Ovaban for dogs. In numerous studies over three decades, this drug, like other progestins, has been found to pose serious health risks in cats, including diabetes mellitus, mammary swelling and tumors, uterine disease, pyometra, and skin disorders. Megestrol acetate is not now, nor has it ever been, approved by the FDA for use in cats.

There do not appear to be any controlled studies of FeralStat that show that it is either safe or fully effective at the dose used. We have no information that FeralStat has gone through any formal review process.

Because FeralStat is given as a food additive for outdoor cat colonies, there is no way to control the amount of the drug each cat ingests, or to prevent wildlife or owned pets from consuming the drug.

While we continue our thorough review, ACC&D cannot recommend the use of FeralStat because of serious unanswered questions about safety and efficacy.

To learn more about non-surgical pet contraception and to find out how you can help, please visit www.acc-d.org. You can also contact us at info@acc-d.org or 503-358-1438/503-310-4265 with questions.
"We organized in the past to make Trap-Neuter-Return possible. Today, we organize to make Trap-Neuter-Return the norm and to end the unnecessary killing of cats in animal shelters across the country and provide humane care." - Alley Cat Allies
Old 04-29-2009, 02:32 PM

Don't bother with it, Bina because ACC-D still feels that FeralStat has not been properly tested. You can download a .pdf of their full statement at http://www.acc-d.org/ACCD%20docs/PPPP-FeralStat.pdf

Name:	FeralCatProgramlogo.bmp
Views:	169
Size:	110.4 KB
ID:	4911  
Attached Files
File Type: pdf PPPP-FeralStat.pdf (172.0 KB, 384 views)

Last edited by FurKids; 04-29-2009 at 02:39 PM.
Old 04-29-2009, 02:42 PM

I knew it will come to this discussion with FK around.

As I mention, this will only complement TNR. Yes, like any drugs there will be side effects. I know because I take loads of pills daily. It is all about benefit versus cons. If it produces greater benefit, then why not?

Also, I've did some research myself. ACCD is trying to create a contraceptive out of a Salmonella thing, strain, now, as far as I know it is a bacteria? Doesn't that sound risky too?
For reading :- http://www.actioncat.com/research.html

BTW, Where's the local address again? Pls address ... so I can go check it out.

Old 04-29-2009, 02:46 PM

June, here is another good resource:

http://network.bestfriends.org/feralcatprogram/news/
Old 04-29-2009, 02:50 PM

As I mention, this will only complement TNR. Yes, like any drugs there will be side effects. I know because I take loads of pills daily. It is all about benefit versus cons. If it produces greater benefit, then why not?

Also, I've did some research myself. ACCD is trying to create a contraceptive out of a Salmonella thing, strain, now, as far as I know it is a bacteria? Doesn't that sound risky too?

ACC&D says ...

The active ingredient in FeralStat is megestrol acetate. This is the same active ingredient which was in Ovaban for dogs. In numerous studies over three decades, this drug, like other progestins, has been found to pose serious health risks in cats, including diabetes mellitus, mammary swelling and tumors, uterine disease, pyometra, and skin disorders. Megestrol acetate is not now, nor has it ever been, approved by the FDA for use in cats.
Old 04-29-2009, 02:57 PM

ACC&D says ...

I know... it is all stated in FeralStat website. Possible side-effects. Like human contraceptive pills, we have side-effects too ... :D.

So, where's the address to get it locally, again? I am really interested to find out ..

Old 04-29-2009, 03:01 PM

It is not only me, Bina.

You got this answer from our Abymummy when you posted the same thing kat kampung lama on 14 August 2008
http://kitten.com.my/forum/health-di...raceptive.html.

Abymummy said:

1st post
Doesn't sound promising - most TNR peeps in the US do not recommend it because no formal studies have been conducted.

2nd post
Take it this way, I don't even give my queens megecat (easily available in Malaysia)...because of the side effects! It totally depends on what you want the contraceptive for I suppose... As for non speutering, I don't know what religion you're taking about or if you are just generalizing but my religion does allow it!

Last edited by FurKids; 04-29-2009 at 03:07 PM.
Old 04-29-2009, 03:06 PM

Bro,bg sajalah itu add.she knows the consequences.
Old 04-29-2009, 03:15 PM

Bro,bg sajalah itu add.she knows the consequences.
Tak leh la, cayang sebab kucing tak berdosa yg akan makan and bear the consequences ... kalo saya makan tak perrrrrr ....
Old 04-29-2009, 03:16 PM

FK You do like to rub it in eh?

As you can see, I did in Aug last year tried to get opinions from other forumers and it is only THIS year that I decide it is worth a try! So see, I did some thinking too ya? So it wasn't that I woke up one morning and decide to feed cats with FeralStat!!!

I don't condemn actions and yes, believe it or not, whether you like it or not, it is still a fact that some people of many walks of life and religion may not be comfortable with neutering and I am not even going to touch on that "religion" topic. It made people uncomfortable as you can see in the other forum. Ignore the fact, you ignore the problem.

I don't mind a discussion, but you are really a pain. You are making me feel like a pest by referring my old post in the other forum. I am sure everyone knows I am Bina.

AGAIN, local address on where we can get FeralStat locally?? Like what you mentioned?

Old 04-29-2009, 03:18 PM

Tak leh la, cayang sebab kucing tak berdosa yg akan makan and bear the consequences ... kalo saya makan tak perrrrrr ....
Probably no such address ...
Don't try to rub into dosa and stuff like that, a bigger sin if there's no such address.

Old 04-29-2009, 03:23 PM

What is all the emo about? You are the one who started it by jumping on me and said, "I knew it will come to this discussion with FK around".

So I simply showed to you that I am not the only one voicing such concerns.

However, if you want to go ahead, do so ... but it will NOT be with any contribution on my side ... I have made that very clear.
Old 04-29-2009, 03:27 PM

Probably no such address ...
Don't try to rub into dosa and stuff like that, a bigger sin if there's no such address.
Bina, if I choose to take any medication, I am the one bearing the consequences, sama la if you take your many pills you choose to bear the consequences suffered by yourself ... but the cats did not make the choice to take the medications, although they will be the ones to suffer any possible consequences out of decisions made by us ... itu makna saya ... it is different if it were done for someone else that were to bear those consequences ... the responsibility is hence greater.
Old 04-29-2009, 03:33 PM

FK You do like to rub it in eh?

As you can see, I did in Aug last year tried to get opinions from other forumers and it is only THIS year that I decide it is worth a try! So see, I did some thinking too ya? So it wasn't that I woke up one morning and decide to feed cats with FeralStat!!!

I don't condemn actions and yes, believe it or not, whether you like it or not, it is still a fact that some people of many walks of life and religion may not be comfortable with neutering and I am not even going to touch on that "religion" topic. It made people uncomfortable as you can see in the other forum. Ignore the fact, you ignore the problem.

I don't mind a discussion, but you are really a pain. You are making me feel like a pest by referring my old post in the other forum. I am sure everyone knows I am Bina.

AGAIN, local address on where we can get FeralStat locally?? Like what you mentioned?
So likewise, Bina, since you posted this on 2 (or more?) public forums, I and Abbymummy are simply airing our views and discomfort with the use of FeralStat. Why so emo? We are not rubbing anything in ... simply putting forth our discomfort just the same way that you are putting forth your confidence in it.
Old 04-29-2009, 03:40 PM

Bina, if I choose to take any medication, I am the one bearing the consequences, sama la if you take your many pills you choose to bear the consequences suffered by yourself ... but the cats did not make the choice to take the medications, although they will be the ones to suffer any possible consequences out of decisions made by us ... itu makna saya ... it is different if it were done for someone else that were to bear those consequences ... the responsibility is hence greater.
Just a little question, "Did any of your cats asked to be neutered?" Every action there is a consequences, like when you neuter cats, you are taking part their emotions, feelings. Then again, it is for a greater good.

If you really do have the address, pls pass it on to me or unless you are just saying you have it? Like June mentioned, I know the consequences, I may not even buy it but worthwhile to know.

I take my pills because I am ill, and I don't appreciate your words on me bearing the consequences. It is no fun to be ill okay? I only used it as an example in PRO/CONS analysis.

Old 04-29-2009, 03:46 PM

So likewise, Bina, since you posted this on 2 (or more?) public forums, I and Abbymummy are simply airing our views and discomfort with the use of FeralStat. Why so emo? We are not rubbing anything in ... simply putting forth our discomfort just the same way that you are putting forth your confidence in it.
Well, the way you wrote it makes me think otherwise.

I don't want to argue on the issue anymore, to me, FeralStat complements TNR - that's my opinion. The operative word being "COMPLEMENT".

If you can pass on the address that you "supposedly" have then it is much appreciated. My gut feeling says you don't have it.