Go Back   PetFinder.my > The Animal Corner > Reptiles

Reptiles Set your eyes upon the scaly, cold-blooded kingdom

Old 03-23-2009, 01:31 PM
Petfinder Lifetime Member

kairul is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to kairul Send a message via Skype™ to kairul
Default How to take care of a pet turtle / pet tortoise?

Hello..

I bought a pair of pet-tortoises [or are they turtles? coz i cannot differentiate them. The seller labelled them as 'turtles set' but some said they are tortoises] during pets@monorail and this is my first time having this type of pet.

So, if any of you have experience in taking GOOD care of them, do let me know...

1- The food, the amount and time to feed them, and what not to feed
2- The water, when to change, the level
3- The home, what to put, what not to put

And any other infos...

Thnks!!
Old 03-23-2009, 02:12 PM

Default Re: How to take care of a pet turtle / pet tortoise?

Wow Kairul,

U really bought the tortoise.....hehe, they are so cute..

I use to have them b4 but were lost, they like to run away..Sorry, I hope can help u but I do not have good experience in taking care of its..maybe u can try to search online or get a book to learn..hope others forumers can help u..

Originally Posted by kairul View Post
Hello..

I bought a pair of pet-tortoises [or are they turtles? coz i cannot differentiate them. The seller labelled them as 'turtles set' but some said they are tortoises] during pets@monorail and this is my first time having this type of pet.

So, if any of you have experience in taking GOOD care of them, do let me know...

And any other infos...

Thnks!!
Old 03-23-2009, 02:33 PM

dreay is an unknown quantity at this point

Hi, Khairul~

Its cool u went thr~hw was it?mind2share a lil info wat happening thr during te function?^^hehe...arigato~
Hmmmmm~turtle or tortoise...well,thr r quite a lil diff in thm bt i doubt abt their habitat~anyway~

1st,hw big is ur cage?izit those average1?
2nd,it based on whether thy lk2swim anot~4example....mine love goin into deep deep water~but4other turtle...or tortoise,thy lk te water lenght at half of their body~
Well,i tink is best u pt te water level til half of their body height~okie?
Thn is best u get sum peebles~pt at one corner of te cage~
So at least wen thy wana go4dry land thy cn rest on top of te peebles~
3rd, wat r u feeding thm?typical tortoise food or vege?

If u wana keep thm in a healthy enviroment~chg their water everyday *tat is y,u shud pt te water lenght til half their body height*
Cz as u kno...thy poo poo n pee pee anywhr in te cage..
If u dun chg te water often,te water wil turn a lil musty,gvg a funny smell~
N tis might cause maggots start growing in te water...*ewww*

Lots of luck in taking care of thm~
Old 03-26-2009, 01:10 PM

Originally Posted by daphne1985 View Post
Wow Kairul,

U really bought the tortoise.....hehe, they are so cute..

I use to have them b4 but were lost, they like to run away..Sorry, I hope can help u but I do not have good experience in taking care of its..maybe u can try to search online or get a book to learn..hope others forumers can help u..
Hye daphne!

Yup.. i bought two of them..they are sooooooooooooooo cute...hehe..
i have had cats b4 so i wanna try a hand on having tortoises as pets..
It's ok daphne..it's not ur fault that u lost the tortoise... it's their fault coz' they liked to run away rite?
hehe..
i'll try and find some info from the internet..
Old 03-26-2009, 01:32 PM

Originally Posted by dreay View Post
Hi, Khairul~

Its cool u went thr~hw was it?mind2share a lil info wat happening thr during te function?^^hehe...arigato~
Hmmmmm~turtle or tortoise...well,thr r quite a lil diff in thm bt i doubt abt their habitat~anyway~

1st,hw big is ur cage?izit those average1?
2nd,it based on whether thy lk2swim anot~4example....mine love goin into deep deep water~but4other turtle...or tortoise,thy lk te water lenght at half of their body~
Well,i tink is best u pt te water level til half of their body height~okie?
Thn is best u get sum peebles~pt at one corner of te cage~
So at least wen thy wana go4dry land thy cn rest on top of te peebles~
3rd, wat r u feeding thm?typical tortoise food or vege?

If u wana keep thm in a healthy enviroment~chg their water everyday *tat is y,u shud pt te water lenght til half their body height*
Cz as u kno...thy poo poo n pee pee anywhr in te cage..
If u dun chg te water often,te water wil turn a lil musty,gvg a funny smell~
N tis might cause maggots start growing in te water...*ewww*

Lots of luck in taking care of thm~
hye dreay,
no prob... the event was great.. i arrived at the station around 8.45 a.m... then, i try to find petfinder booth. met andy [gladly i had met him b4..so i knew which 1 is andy] and help him set up the booth..

then, daphne arrived. we discussed on what to do and how to do things.. they were a lot of people there... got the angkasawan, some malay artistes,the vips...many games and activities... daphne, andy, ezer, shan hui, and me distributed some fyers and talked to people about petfinder..some followed us to the booth, some took the flyers, some boh-layan...

and thanks to andy, ezer, and shan hui, i had a breakfast and lunch!!

next to petfinder's booth was pet united booth which sell pets.. i bought a pair of tortoises.. but the event was really great..plus we met some members... but the weather was hot..

bout my tortoise, thanks 4 ur info.. here's my reply..

1-the cage is slightly bigger than the one in the photo which andy uploaded in the event thread.. like a normal medium-sized aquarium
2-they like to swim...sometimes they put the head inside the water..sometimes they just like to like 'berendam' a lil' bit.. but i followed ur advice..i put water til half their bodies..and i put pebbles on the right corner for them to rest and dry themselves...
3-i feed them normal turtle sticks...

but now the problem that i'm facing is:

1-only one tortoise eat the food..another one havent eat that food since the day i bought them
2-only the one who eat the food always swimming and 'crawling' in the aquarium....another one always sleep from the day i bought them..even if the one who always sleep awakes, it just go to one corner and sleep again...

so, i don't know what to do..coz one of the tortoise doesn't seem to eat or active... i don't want the tortoise to die.. i try to separate them and put each tortoise in one aquarium, but that just won't work..

so how eh?
Old 03-26-2009, 06:40 PM

kairul,
i am NOT a reptile expert, but here's my 5 cents.........

look at the legs to differentiate between turtles and tortoises.

a turtle is found in and around water, and has webbed legs.

tortoise, on the other hand, is found on dry land and has stumpy legs, like an elephant's.

is the tortoise/turtle hurt in any way? check its shell...is it scratched or anything? it sounds to me like it could be sick or something, since it's not normal for a living thing to not want to eat for days.
Old 03-27-2009, 10:08 PM

Kairul, the turtles that you are referring are like mine.... hahahaa...

small very cute..years to come..they grow like a 50 cent coin then er size of your palm..then monster like mine..........

i have 3.
how i care them ar

small that time i give them those turtle pellet - but they tend to grow really fast.....

as they grow bigger no more pellets - no way man..cannot afterward as big as ...er....

i give them kangkung and cabbage daily
last time 2 meals
now 1 meal.......
they will outlive me for sure........

i feed them around 7pm or 8pm depending.....
they eat a lot......
their fav are especially kangkung...and cabbage
what care - they dont really need much care as they are a very hardy stuff..

of course if got one big pond for them to swim ok
last time i used to put them at my parents long bath

hahaa because it is huge..and not putting to waste...
got shoooo by my dad..too noisy...so i invested one big container.......throw all of them there...
they love to stack...

i cant really tell what is my turtle gender......
they look all the same :)

see my 3 giant monster :)

Name:	DSCN7680.jpg
Views:	551
Size:	85.4 KB
ID:	4115  
Old 03-27-2009, 10:56 PM

wah, vivien, what don't u have ah? u have rabbits, hamsters, turtles, snakes, and what else?
Old 03-28-2009, 09:46 AM

wah, vivien, what don't u have ah? u have rabbits, hamsters, turtles, snakes, and what else?
eh snake not part of my pets la hahaha

and 4 tanks of fishes
Old 03-28-2009, 11:29 AM

no meh? u got that ikea green snake, and now a real, live snake in your kitchen, hahaha.

wow! 4 tanks of fishes. wow, except for your turtles & rabbits, you actually are rearing a lot of food for blackie, eh? hahahaha, must take blackie to visit u one day.

eh snake not part of my pets la hahaha

and 4 tanks of fishes
Old 03-28-2009, 03:44 PM

kairul,
i am NOT a reptile expert, but here's my 5 cents.........

look at the legs to differentiate between turtles and tortoises.

a turtle is found in and around water, and has webbed legs.

tortoise, on the other hand, is found on dry land and has stumpy legs, like an elephant's.
hi blackie...
found out already.. its a turtle i think..hehe.. coz it has webbed legs...
Old 03-28-2009, 03:47 PM

no meh? u got that ikea green snake, and now a real, live snake in your kitchen, hahaha.

wow! 4 tanks of fishes. wow, except for your turtles & rabbits, you actually are rearing a lot of food for blackie, eh? hahahaha, must take blackie to visit u one day.
wah blackie cannot come to my mini zoo havoc totally man.............

dangerous :P

khairul it is definitely turtle......that requires water....:)

it is brazilian turtles
Old 03-28-2009, 03:53 PM

aiyo vivien..
its true la..see ur profile at facebook, so many pets...hahaha.. u can open a mini-zoo...

thnks for sharing the info.. very helpful...n ur 3 monsters r so huge... hehe..

now i feed them the pallets but it seems that they always want more...so, i think they eat like 3 times a day... izit ok??

but another one don't want to eat...so i think later wanna try give the other one vegetables like lettuce or cabbage...

p/s: pls pray for my mum health.. she's admitted to the hospital today afternoon coz of dengue... this is the 2nd tyme she had dengue...
Old 03-28-2009, 04:16 PM

so sorry to hear about your mum, kairul. wishing her speedy recovery.
Old 03-28-2009, 04:25 PM

aiyo vivien..
its true la..see ur profile at facebook, so many pets...hahaha.. u can open a mini-zoo...

thnks for sharing the info.. very helpful...n ur 3 monsters r so huge... hehe..

now i feed them the pallets but it seems that they always want more...so, i think they eat like 3 times a day... izit ok??

but another one don't want to eat...so i think later wanna try give the other one vegetables like lettuce or cabbage...

p/s: pls pray for my mum health.. she's admitted to the hospital today afternoon coz of dengue... this is the 2nd tyme she had dengue...
wow........ wish your mother speedy recovery........
yes dengue is at a rise..careful a bit............
Old 03-28-2009, 07:27 PM

thanks blackie!
thanks vivien!

i love u both!!
Old 03-28-2009, 10:09 PM

kimimaro84 is on a distinguished road

Hello..

And any other infos...

Thnks!!
Hi, first of all sorry to hear bout ur mum. Good thing u sent her early. Me also kena dengue 2 times d, one time till cant walk. Hope she is well

Bout ur turtle, me also got 3 last time. 2 i bought when i was in standard 4, jaga them rili well. Then one day i found a black color turtle crossing the road so i bring back.

3 of them got their own character. The first 2 was only size of 50cent coin when i bought. somehow one of them seems to be aggressive. Always snatch food from the other one. As years pass by he become big n the other one still small. But they were happy together la. Always swimming n playing on the small bridge i bought them. Then the black one join in, he was same size as the aggressive one.

not long after that the black one got killed by the aggressive one, so ganas go bite the head off...i am sure i feed them everyday...was so kinda scary to dig it out from the container...then next was the small turtle. He also kena makan. The head was completely eaten part of the shell was shred to pieces...huhu

But still i sayang this aggressive one. He is the most excited when he sees me, also he like to climb out from the container. When we go outstation he will climb out n dunno crawl where. Hungry only come out find me lol.

bout food, i give kang kung daily. cabbage also. If they r lucky, they get seahum/kerang or prawn. But their shit will smell worst than diarrhea. Juz change water every 2 days or when it gets murky. The water lvl shud be enuf for them to stand n put thier head up. Try put some stones or bridge so they can dry themselves there. They will always climb on top of each other like a tower haha.

when they grow big dun put finger into the tub, they will bite n never release. need kill to release i seen in a clinic b4.
Old 03-30-2009, 08:33 AM

dreay is an unknown quantity at this point

Hi....Wow...it sounds awesome~
Oppsie....u mean he din eat at all?
So,how was he lk now??
NOpe!~never ever seperate thm~
Tat wil even make him even more lonely neh~
Well,u might try buying veges lk Kangkung n see if he eats it anot~
Its te enviroment in their cage clean?
Hm....well,jz try feeding him veges 1st....*its worth trying*
I'll get some info on wat happen2him~
N if he stil not eating...lt me kno~
*dun play wif him 1st...lt him adapt everyting ard him...mayb he's not use2it*

Anyway~good job~
Old 03-31-2009, 08:59 PM

This info is for kairul......

Extracted from the Clubpet magazine
Turtle mania

An aquatic turtle, the Red-earred Slider or terrapin is a cold-blooded and a strong swimmer. Part of the Emydidae family, they originate from countries like America, Mexico, South Argentina and the West Indies, and have become popular household pets all over the world.

Similar in colour and appearance to a tortoise, the terrapin's namesake actually comes from an old Algonquian Indian word torope, meaning " a little turtle". In the wild, these little creatures are found mainly in ponds and swamps, muddy streams and small woodland lakes. Now many terrapins are bred specifically for the pet industry.
Terrapins have green skin with bright yellow striples. They have a patch of red behind each eye on the sides of their heads and some have a small red patch on the tops of their heads. The carapace, or shell, is yellow or olive green with yellow green to dark green lines or patches. Parts of the shell can be white, yellow or red. There are to additional colour morphs. One is a pastel strain that is characterised by a light shell with varying amount of red and yellow. The other is an albion strain that starts out bright yellow when the trutle is juvenile and fades throughout its life. Males tend to be smaller than females, and they have longer tails. Both sexes have webbed feet and strong claws.
The are many other different breed terrapins, such as the yellow bellied terrapins and the diamonback terrapin, which is named for the diamond pattern on its shell. But the only breed of terrapin allowed in Singapore is the red-eared terrapin, more commonly known as the Red-earred Slider.

Terrapin territory
Terrapins need a land area in their glass tank on which to rest, bask, and walk around and an area of fresh water in which to feed and swim. Provide a ramp for easy access between the areas. A ratio of 70% percent of land, to 30% percent water is adequate. Allow 1 square metre per terrapin.
Terrapins need a full spctrum light to mimc the radiant energy of the sun which is necessary for them to manufacture vitamin D, which is important for good bone and shell health. The light is usually contained within the cover. It should be situated over the land area on a timer switch to regulate the night/day circle.
Use a tank thermometer to measure the temperature. For their body systems to function, terrapins need an ambient temperature range of 20 to 30C for adult terrapins and slightly higher (25 to 30C) for juveniles. However, do not place the tank in direct sunlight as it may overheat.
A water filtration system removes small particles of debris and clears the water, but even with filtration, tank water needs changing regularly. If there is no filtering system, remove faecal material every day and remove any uneaten food after 20 mins. Clean the tank and the rocks and replace the water twice a week.
With a filtering system, replace half of the water each week. If gravel is used in the tank, rake it through so that the debris is removed with the dirty water. Remember to replace it with clean warm water.
On warm, sunny days your terrapin may enjoy going outside to swim and bask. Always have both land and water areas available for it and monitor the situation carefully to prevent overheating. As terrapins age, their shells can darken, the lines are patches dissapearing, until are a uniform dark olive green or greenish brown.

Chomp Chomp
Terrapins are omnivores, an adult terrapins's diet include fresh, small whole fish, freshwater shrimps, snails, lettuce and more. Pet terrapins rely more on commercially prepared food. If you prefer, a second feeding tank may be prepared to ensure that the usual tank is kept clean and hygienic. Juvenile Red-earred Sliders are mostly carnivorous and should be fed daily. Adult Sliders are omnivours and shoud be fed every other day. An adult slider's diet should be made of 25% commercial aquatic turtle diet, 25% animal protein, and 50% plant material. Some examples of animal protein are crickets, mealworms, bloodworms and the occasional feeder fish. Plant material can include green beans, sweet potatoes, bananas and grapes. All food should be dusted with a calcium and vitamin supplement with a high VitaminD-3 content.
Because red-earred sliders are very messy eaters, it is recommended to moeve them to separate areas outside their aquarium for their meals. After oyu put slider in the feeding area, allow it to feed for 15 mins then move it back to its aquarium.

Making Friends
Before attempting to interact with your terrapin, allow it to become comfortable in its new home. Once it has acclimated, it will associate you with food, and learn to look fowrad to seeing you. Be sure to handle your terrapin carefully, with two hands and never allow children under the age of five to handle it. Alwasy wash your hands before you and after handling your terrapin.
To handle them, simply hold their shells between your thumb and forefinger just in front of their hind legs. Strong and aggressive, these creatures will bite if mishandled.
Although very popular pets, terrapins are not suitable for children. If they are bought for children, a parent must be a primary caretaker. Thought relatively easier to care for than other pets, terrapins still require adequate attention and considerate care.
It should be noted that terrapins can live amazingly long lives, with some reportedly living up to 30 or even 50 years. Some have been known to outlive their owners. Do keep this in mind when considering keeping terrapin as pets.
Maintaining high standards of hygiene and nutritional care is required for terrapins good health or they might contract illnesses. When in doubt, do bring them to the vet to seek a professional opinion. As long as your terrapin is well cared, you can be sure to enjoy fascinating times with your little pet.

5 facts
size
at birth, they are about 1 to 1.5 inches, but will soon grow up to 11 to 12 inches if well looked after - like mine - cute at first now like monster :)
average lifespand
30-50 years or more - sure outlive me la..how?
personality
curious, alert, strong and can be aggressive. Might learn to beg for food when it senses movement near its tank - ahhh like mine!!!!! - 6pm automatically bang the container already....telling me they are all hungry - FEED ME!!!! )
favourite activities
swimming in the water and basking in the sun - mine like swimming, making noise, stacking up one after another - i got 3 so 3 stack-up terrapins. They love to go under the car..........fav spot ..
Old 04-01-2009, 03:03 AM

freewilly85 is on a distinguished road

If the animals you bought are those you can easily found in pet shops or aquarium shops, selling for Rm6-8 each, they are red ear sliders. Why they are called red ear sliders? cause they have 2 red slides on their ears. They are originated from Missisipi River if I am not mistaken, thus their other name, Missisipi red ear terrapin.

They are not tortoises nor turtles. They are in a different sub group. They are terrapins. Tortoises live on lands, turtles live in waters, terrapins can live on lands & waters. So, for setup of their living place, I would suggest at least 50% water 50 % land. Lots of people keep them in 100% water, but then when they grow older, they will suffer skin diseases. They like to sun as well. Can bring them out to sun. & they are fast growing, so be sure that their tank is big enough for them. You might read or taken advises from others that if you wanna restrict an animal from growing, feed them less or starve them. I AM REALLY AGAINST THIS.

Tortoises are herbivours, turtles & terrapins are carnivours. but the captive bred terrapins now eat both plants & meat. If wanna compare, tortoises move slow where turtles & terrapins move fast. Cause tortoises wouldn't have to "chase" for their prey where turtles & terrapins have to. In the wild, terrapins can even catch birds & drag them to water to drown them before consuming them. Watch more discovery or science channels.

You can feed whatever and whenever to your terrapins. The most easiest way is buy a botol of terrapin food form aquarium shops or supermarkets. Or, can feed kangkung like other suggested. I will advise give them meat (eg, live fish, live shrimp, etc) too & not trying to turn them into 100% herbivours because it is their natural diet to consume meat. If you say the other one isn't eating, try seperating them & feed again, cause one might have taken all the food alone, leaving the other one with no food.

You can change the water as frequent as you like. Or the laziest way, change only when it is dirty enough...

FreeWilly