Old 02-08-2011, 09:40 PM
Rescue & Foster

CT YEOH is on a distinguished road
Default Can cat change colour?

I pick a stray white cat. The vet told me she is ~3yrs. After the 3rd month, her fur turned brownish. All the strays I have, never change colour.
Old 02-09-2011, 09:10 AM

miaomiao is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Can cat change colour?

is she shedding hair more than before?
Old 02-09-2011, 07:35 PM
Rescue & Foster

The 1st month, when I stroked her, clumps of fur just dropped off. It could be due to her scavenging diet. Vet inspected her and said she had a lot of tartar. After the 3rd month, she had gain twice her size and weight and I can comb her with minimum fur attached to the comb.
BTW, do can you tell me the breed?

Name:	CHICO 90211 (12).jpg
Views:	119
Size:	83.9 KB
ID:	10663  
Old 02-09-2011, 07:54 PM

miaomiao is on a distinguished road

DSH i guess. a cute kucing kampung!
Old 03-22-2011, 03:12 PM

beef is on a distinguished road

yes, some cat will look totally different when fully grown
for example most new born siamese are all white, then slowly develop brow/red/grey color in certain area when grow older.

judging from the darker color on ears and face, my guess'd be your cat has some burmese or siamese blood. not entirely a kampung cat

Old 03-22-2011, 03:35 PM

I agree with beef... my Burmese, Ashanta, was light brown and only her tail was very dark but afterwards becomes grey as she reach to adulthood. I was informed that the head until to her body will be darker as her tail.
Tonkinese, Siamese and Burmese have the ability to change their color mostly than other breeds. Some breed of cats change their color points esp on their hind/paws/tail as they grow up.

Burmese in the other hand has very natural soft silky coat and shiner when it darkens.
I have clumps of furs dropping off but I used a simple lady's stocking to get rid of her old furs then finally, her comb to stimulate her skin.

Originally Posted by beef View Post
yes, some cat will look totally different when fully grown
for example most new born siamese are all white, then slowly develop brow/red/grey color in certain area when grow older.

judging from the darker color on ears and face, my guess'd be your cat has some burmese or siamese blood. not entirely a kampung cat

Old 03-23-2011, 11:44 PM
Rescue & Foster

She doesn't look like normal DSH. She is stumpy and had funny looking bob tail. DSH or mix, they are all priceless to me.

Name:	CHICO 230311.jpg
Views:	107
Size:	91.3 KB
ID:	10750  
Old 03-24-2011, 03:23 AM

Hi CT Yeoh,

The body is not tube-like or slender/slim as Burmese and Siamese.
I think your cat is mixed with past generations including DLH/DMH.
She is a beauty.

Originally Posted by CT YEOH View Post
She doesn't look like normal DSH. She is stumpy and had funny looking bob tail. DSH or mix, they are all priceless to me.
Old 03-24-2011, 07:55 AM

DSH or mix, they are all priceless to me.
Old 03-25-2011, 10:05 PM
Rescue & Foster

She was very slim and slender when we first took her in. From that day, she has being constantly eating. She double her size & weight within 3 months. Maybe because during her stray days, she never know when her next meal will be.

Name:	Chico (13).jpg
Views:	95
Size:	42.4 KB
ID:	10752   Click image for larger version

Name:	CHICO 31810.jpg
Views:	105
Size:	73.2 KB
ID:	10753  
Old 03-26-2011, 06:58 AM

She was very slim and slender when we first took her in. From that day, she has being constantly eating. She double her size & weight within 3 months. Maybe because during her stray days, she never know when her next meal will be.
So her colour is not the only thing that has changed -- her health has improved, and she now looks VERY happy and confident. What a lovely cat! Bless you for adopting her and taking her off the streets.
Old 03-26-2011, 05:23 PM
Rescue & Foster

Thanks for the compliments. She is number 15. No.17 was last week. A very badly injured 5 months kitten let to die a slow and painful dead.